Skip to main content

BSC 2010 Principles of Biology I: Home

This information pathfinder is designed to help students with library research as they complete various assignments in Professor Morata's class at the Wolfson Campus.

What's in this Guide?

Welcome to the research guide for biology sciences. This guide provides links to the most useful databases and resources for identifying and locating information for your topic.  

Research at MDC Libraries

Log in using your student ID and the last four digits of the ID as your pin.

 

Library Catalog 

Articles Databases

Books at Wolfson Library

eBooks

Ebooks are available through the Miami Dade College Library Catalog.  On the MDC homepage, locate the Libraries link, click on Search Catalog. Log into your library account. Under the Limit to option, select eBooks.  Enter the title of the book, an author's name or story title. Search.

BSC2010

Online Sources

 
Online Databases

Miami Dade College Library provides a number of databases in the area of bioscience. You may log into the library using you Student ID number (PIN: last 4 numbers of your Student ID) and search for articles through the LINCCWeb site.

JSTOR

 GreenFILE Ebsco

Springer eJournal Collection

 

 

 What is an Empirical Article?

An empirical article is an article that presents research that is based on actual observations or experiments conducted by the author. 

 

How can I Tell if it is an Empirical Article?

  • Empirical articles are usually found in scholarly journals, not magazines or newspapers.
  • Most empirical articles are broken down into sections: "Methodology", "Results", and "Conclusion".
  • If the article have references listed at the end (researchers have to cite their sources).
  • If the abstract (summary) mentions any study, questionnaires, participants, or measurements.

Call Numbers

Books on biological topics are in the Q section:

QH1-278.5 Natural History
QH359-425 Evolution
QH426-470 Genetics
QH471-489 Reproduction
QH501-531 Life
QH540-549.5 Ecology
QH573-671 Cytology
QH705-705.5 Economic Biology
QK1-989 Botany
QL1-991 Zoology
QM1-695 Human Anatomy
QP1-981 Physiology
QR1-502 Microbiology

Subject Guide

Marta Frydman's picture
Marta Frydman
Contact:
Wolfson Campus Library - Room 1321
300 NE 2nd Ave
Miami
FL, 33132
305-237-3446

For additional help

Office Hours

 M - TH     1:00 pm to 3:00 pm
              8:00 am to 10:00 am

Citations & Plagiarism

What is Plagiarism?

"The unauthorized use or close imitation of the language and thoughts of another author and the representation of them as one's own original work."

From The Random House Dictionary of the English Language, 2d ed.

 

Researching, Writing, and Citing