Skip to main content

EAP1686 | Professor Porges-West: Welcome

This guide contains resources for students of Prof. Ileana Porges-West's EAP1686 courses

EAP1686: Professor Ileana Porges-West

Branly Fontaine's picture
Branly Fontaine
Contact:
1776 W. 49th St.
Hialeah, FL 33012
Learning Commons
Room 1400
Campus Hours
M-W 5pm-9pm
305 237 8722
Stephanie Lewis - MDC's picture
Stephanie Lewis - MDC
Contact:
Learning Resources, Room 1400
Miami Dade College, Hialeah Campus
(305) 237-8722
Christina Dillon's picture
Christina Dillon
Contact:
Learning Resources, Room 1407
Miami Dade College, Hialeah Campus
305.237.8655 | cmachado@mdc.edu
Website
​Welcome to the EAP1686 LibGuide

Resources specific to your class and the subject of Information Literacy are organized throughout this LibGuide. It will be updated as necessary so be sure to check back often. Feel free to contact either embedded librarian, Christina or Branly, by email or stop by MDC Hialeah Campus Learning Resources (building 1, 4th floor) to see us. Appointments are encouraged.

Reminder: please take a moment to provide feedback regarding this LibGuide by answering the survey question located on this page at any point during the semester.

Thank you!

Need Help Online?

Link to Ask a Librarian.org

Project Deadlines

* For the most current, up-to-date assignment requirements and deadlines, please check for EAP 1686 updates on Blackboard. 

Date Assignment
January 28th 

Chocolate LibGuide WebQuest Due on Blackboard

Selection and approval for the Chocolate Project topic is Due

February 11th

Research Question & Annotated Bibliography is Due.

Annotated bibliography requirements: 

4 sources (At least one book, one database, one internet, and one video from the MDC databases, i.e. Films on Demand) per student answering question/subtopic they are responsible for, in MLA citation format;

Annotated bibliography must include a summary for all 4 sources (At least one book, one database, one internet, and one video from the MDC Databases) ;

Each annotation should be 150 words each Source/Summary, and include the following:

  • Authors main point (paraphrase article)
  • Who the author is (credentials)
  • How the article was found: search strategy, keywords, reasoning for selection
February 25th

Chocolate Poster Due - Post URL/link to poster on Blackboard

Chocolate Poster Project Presentation in Class

March 5th 

Optional Extra Credit: Mexico VR using Google Cardboard

April 

1st

Research topics and individual subtopics for your Final Mexico project are due on Blackboard.

April

6th

Annotated Bibliography Due

April

14th

Mexico Final PowerPoint Project Due


Samples & Project Resources

Please provide feedback

Do you find this LibGuide helpful?
Very: 15 votes (88.24%)
Somewhat: 0 votes (0%)
Not at all: 2 votes (11.76%)
Total Votes: 17