Skip to main content

Collection Overview - English : Overview of Collection

This guide contains an overview of the English Collection and available resources for English discipline faculty.

Library Liaison

Library Liaison: Christina M. Dillon

Discipline Faculty Liaison:

Prof. Patrick Leitch

 

Library liaisons work closely with the Discipline to make sure that the faculty are given the opportunity to select materials and services that best fit the needs of the curriculum. Each liaison works in a college-wide capacity. Whether it's attending the discipline meetings, working with a small group of professors to review a database, or attending a national conference, library liaisons have the expertise needed in the field to support the changing needs of the discipline and support student success.

Christina Dillon's picture
Christina Dillon
Contact:
Learning Resources, Room 1407
Miami Dade College, Hialeah Campus
305.237.8655 | cmachado@mdc.edu
Website
Overview of the English Collection

At Miami Dade College, students and faculty have access to:

EBSCO eBooks: 6,243 (Literature, Literary Criticism, Poetry, and Drama)

OverDrive eBooks & eAudiobooks: 1,659 (Classic Literature, Drama, Fiction, Literature, Literary Criticism, and Poetry)

Print Titles: 90,765

Discipline-Specific Databases: 9

Librarians: 14 Full-Time librarians committed to facilitating the incorporation of information literacy (MDC Learning Outcome #4) across the curriculum.

Each tab within this guide provides the MDC community with the latest information about every type of material or service that make up the current collection and resources. Working with the library liaison, faculty within the discipline now have the information they need to create an up-to-date instructional program.

Libraries are rapidly changing environments. For this reason, an overview is provided for each type of information collected by the College so that faculty can make the most informed choice about what resources to use in the classroom.

Regardless of the format, information is collected to support a variety of BA, BS, AS, and AA pathways including:

Particular focus is given to materials necessary to support the ENC1101 and ENC1102 courses. A representative collection of classic literature, best selling fiction and non-fiction titles is also maintained.

Updated July 2018