Skip to main content

Open Educational Resources at MDC: Overview: Home

Open Educational Resources (OER) are "teaching, learning, and research resources that reside in the public domain or have been released under an intellectual property license that permits their free use and re-purposing by others."

What are Open Educational Resources (OER)?

Open Education Resources graphic

Open Educational Resources (OER) are "teaching, learning, and research resources that reside in the public domain or have been released under an intellectual property license that permits their free use and re-purposing by others."  

From The William and Flora Hewlett Foundation

OER materials are released under an open license granting permission for every one to:

  • Retain -- users have the right to make, archive, and own copies of the content
  • Reuse -- content can be reused in its unaltered form
  • Revise -- content can be adapted, adjusted, modified, and altered
  • Remix -- original or revised content can be combined with other content to create something new
  • Redistribute -- copies of the content can be shared with others in its original, revised or remixed form.

OER include digital learning materials such as:

  • open textbooks
  • full courses
  • modules
  • syllabi
  • lectures
  • homework assignments
  • quizzes
  • lab activities
  • games
  • simulations

The Impact of Open Educational Resources on Various Student Success Metrics

OER Flyer

Opening the curriculum infographic

OER Mythbusting

Librarians

Profile Image
Isabel Duque
Contact:
                                                                                  3052376088                                                                                                                                                                                                         Subjects:                                                   AnthropologySocial SciencesStudent Life Skills

Information from Regina Gong from LCC

Types of Open Educational Resources

Types of OER (and where to find them)

There are a multitude of OER out there to choose from, including textbooks, courses, multimedia, data, and supplementary materials. These can be found by searching regular search engines (like Google) by using certain keywords but it is much easier to find them through dedicated OER repositories or websites. The examples below are just a sampling of such repositories and websites.

Repositories

SOL*R (Shareable Online Learning Resources)  –  This is BCcampus’ OER respository.

Creative Commons Search  –  A repository of various types of media, including images, music, and videos.

OER Commons  –  A large collection of a variety of types of OER, including textbooks, courses, and ancillary materials.

MERLOT  –  “a curated collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty development services contributed and used by an international education community.”

OER Handbook for Educators  –  “a guide for those who are just getting started in the creation of open educational resources (OER).”

Textbooks

BCcampus’s BC OpenEd Resources page is a good place to start to find both general information about OER and a list of textbooks that have been “created…or…re-created from existing [OER] by BC post-secondary faculty, reviewed by B.C. faculty and made available under a Creative Commons license.”

OpenStax  –  Supported by Rice University, OpenStax has a huge collection of open, peer-reviewed textbooks on a large variety of subjects.

Project Gutenberg  –  A collection of tens of thousands of digitized books available for download; audiobooks are also available.

AU Press  –  Athabasca University’s AU Press publishes open access journals and books with a focus on Canada, the North American West, and the Circumpolar North.

Courses

Khan Academy  –  A collection of instructional videos and practice exercises on topics including math, science, programming, history, English, economics, and standardized test prep.

MIT OpenCourseWare  –  offers free access to almost all MIT course content

Saylor Academy  –  a non-profit organization committed to providing free and open online courses

Coursera  –  an educational platform partnered with dozens of prestigious universities and institutions (including MoMA, Stanford, Yale, the University of Toronto, and the University of London)

Multimedia

Creative Commons Search  –  A repository of various types of media, including images, music, and videos

Vimeo  –  Videos with a CC license can be found through Advanced Search options

Flickr: Creative Commons – Flickr is an “online photo management and sharing application” and many photos are available under CC licenses; Flickr allows searching by type of license.

Supplemental materials

Supplemental, or ancillary, OER materials can include lecture notes, lesson plans, PowerPoint presentations, assignments, and activities.

PhET  –  Interactive math and science simulations with lesson plans and activities

OER Commons  –  A large collection of a variety of types of OER, including textbooks, courses, and ancillary materials

Other OER lists

Many universities have research guides related to finding OER and that provide lists of various repositories and resources, so be sure to check your home institution.

Simon Fraser University

University of British Columbia

Kwantlen Polytechnic University

British Columbia Institute of Technology

University of Victoria

University of Northern British Columbia

OER promotes student success