Skip to main content

Professor Hospital's ENC 1102 Florida History Assignment: Home

About This Website

Students in Carolina Hospital's ENC 1102 class are required to choose a 50-year period in the 19th or 20th century history of a city in Florida and explore the impact of geography and natural environment on the city's development during that period.

This website provides suggestions for finding information related to this assignment. Students may choose from the following cities: Key West, Miami, Tampa, St. Augustine, Pensacola, Eatonville, Titusville, or Jacksonville. Students are required to find five sources, of which only two can be secondary. The rest must be primary sources.

Primary vs. Secondary Sources

Books

Use the search box below to find books in the MDC Libraries. You can try replacing "Florida" with the name of a city, such as Miami or Key West.

Access to Other Libraries

If you are a currently registered MDC student, your MDC ID card can be used for borrowing privileges at the Florida International University Libraries.

If you are a resident of Miami-Dade County, you can apply for a public library card that can be used at all branches of the Miami Dade Public Library System.

Use the links below to search the holdings of the FIU and Miami Dade Public Libraries:

The World is Your Library

WorldCat is a shared online catalog of books and other materials held in libraries all around the globe. You can perform a search and then find out which libraries own the items you retrieve.

Books or articles that are not available in your campus library may be requested from other campuses via intercampus loan (ICL), or from other institutions via interlibrary loan (ILL).

Contact your campus library Reference Desk for assistance with placing ICL or ILL requests.

Items that can be obtained from within the Florida College System usually arrive at your campus library within 3 to 7 days. Other items may take up to 2 weeks to arrive. The loan period for an ILL item depends on the policy of the lending institution.

Databases

The MDC Libraries provide free access to over 100 databases containing popular and scholarly periodicals, ebooks, videos, and other types of information resources. The following databases are recommended for finding historical information.

To log into a database: Borrower ID = MDC student or employee number ; PIN = last 4 digits of MDC student or employee number.

Google Scholar

You might be familiar with using Google Scholar to search for information from scholarly sources, but did you know there's a trick to making it even more useful? This video shows you how to plug Google Scholar into our library databases for increased access to full text materials.

See also: Google Search Operators and Google Search Tools and Filters for helpful Google search tips.

Digital Archives

Publication of Archival, Library & Museum Materials (PALMM) is a cooperative initiative of the public universities of Florida to provide online access to archival materials. PALMM consists of a variety of digital collections (such as the Florida Heritage Collection) that might be useful in your search for primary sources.

Florida Memory is a project of the State Archives of Florida and is a digital repository of manuscripts, photographs, videos, audio recordings, and other materials that complement official State records.

Locally Housed Archives

The following locations in downtown Miami house archival collections of photographs, documents, and other materials pertaining to the history of our state, with particular emphasis on the South Florida region.

They are open to the public, but their holdings are non-circulating, which means they cannot be borrowed and must be viewed on-site. An appointment may be required to view certain materials.

Want to Learn More?

Has your research paper assignment for Professor Hospital's English class piqued your interest in Florida history? Has browsing the PALMM and Florida Memory websites whet your appetite for digital collections on other topics? Here are some additional resources.

Need Help?

Librarians are available to assist you.
Call or visit your campus library
Reference Desk.

Credits

This page was created and is maintained by Jenny Saxton.

Questions and comments are welcome.

Jenny Saxton