Skip to main content

Service Learning Activity Project - Tools and Resources: Library Resources

Contact a Librarian

If you need help with any of the research tools on this page, contact:

 

Michael Moore
Learning Resources Professional
Room: 2235-3
Phone: 305-237-2072
Email: mmoore3@mdc.edu

Ask-A-Librarian

You can also get research help from Florida's statewide virtual library reference service:

Find Books & eBooks

Search for books or ebooks in the library catalog.

 


To log into an ebook:  Borrower ID = MDC student or employee number ; PIN = last 4 digits of MDC student or employee number.

Find More eBooks

Use the search box below to find more ebooks.

EBSCO eBook Collection
 

To log into an ebook: Borrower ID = MDC student or employee number ; PIN = last 4 digits of MDC student or employee number.

Alternatively, you can go directly to EBSCO eBooks database to search or browse the EBSCO collection.

Click here for information on how to download EBSCO ebooks to tablets and other hand-held devices.

Find Articles

MDC students and employees have free access to over 100 databases containing full-text articles from magazines, newspapers, scholarly journals, and other types of information resources. The following databases are useful for finding articles on science and medicine.

To log into a database:  Borrower ID = MDC student or employee number ; PIN = last 4 digits of MDC student or employee number.

Google Scholar

Yes, scholarly articles are also available in Google.  You can use Google Scholar to search for them, but the full text is not freely available for all the articles.  A few are free, and if the article is available in any of the Miami Dade College databases, a link that says "Find Text Via LINCCWeb" will provide access to the full text.




Open the document below for tips on how to use Google Scholar on campus or off campus.

Find Streaming Video

Films on Demand

The Films On Demand database contains videos from a number of highly regarded producers such as Films for the Humanities and Sciences, PBS, BBC, National Geographic, Ken Burns, TED, and more.

The Kanopy database offers videos from leading producers such as California Newsreel, The Great Courses, New Day Films, and more.

To log in:  Borrower ID = MDC student or employee number ; PIN = last 4 digits of MDC student or employee number.

NBCLearn

The NBC Learn database contains thousands of videos, historic newsreels, primary source documents, and photographs from the NBC archives.

To log in, use your MyMDC account (the same username and password you use to log into a computer on campus).

Find DVDs

Search for DVDs in the library catalog.

Search YouTube