Skip to main content

Guide to Library Resources: Films

This guide includes information about the library, and about searching for books, ebooks, articles and databases, films, and Internet resources. Information about APA and MLA citation styles is also included.

Searching for Films

Search LINCCWeb to find dvds or streaming videos.  Limit your search by Material Type, to Audio/Visual Material.

DVDS are located by the Service Desk in the library and can be checked out for one week.  Electronic videos can be streamed online.

DVDs

The Library's DVD Collection includes popular titles such as The Green Mile (call number: [POPDVD] GREEN M) , and academic titles such as Forensic Science: The Crime Fighter's Weapon (call number: [DVD] HV8073 .F67 2008 ).

alt=””

 

Films on Demand

Films on Demand                                                                                              

View streaming videos from Films Media Group anytime, anywhere, 24/7! Choose from thousands of educational titles in dozens of subject areas.

Below are two example videos:

College Success: What is Research Students can develop stronger arguments for their college essays by using multiple sources for research. Use reliable Internet databases; utilize library resources; and include diverse points of view.  View Video.

Study Skills Review Students review the key points of listening, note-taking, outline format, organization and management of assignments and homework, and getting the most out of textbooks. View Video.

Note:  If you have trouble accessing films from the links above, and are asked for a password, please use the following steps to access the database through the MDC library website.
 
~ Go to http://www.mdc.edu/main/library/
~ Click Articles/Databases.
~ Click on Databases A-Z.
~ Enter your college (Miami Dade College).
~ Enter your Borrower ID (MDC Student ID number).
~ Enter your PIN (last four digits of MDC Student ID number).
~ From the alphabetical listing, click on FMG on Demand (Films Media Group).
~ Click on Connect to Database.
~ Click on Subjects and choose one, or use the empty box to do a keyword search for a particular topic.