Skip to main content

Gambling: Databases and Articles

A good topic for a controversial issues research paper or a debate.

Databases

 

 

To find articles about Gambling, you may choose to use the following Databases.  To log in, go to the  Miami Dade College   Libraries Home Page, www.mdc.edu/libraries  and click MDC Libraries.  Choose Articles/Databases, and Databases by Subject.   Enter your student number and PIN, the last four digits of your student number.   Some good databases to choose are the following which can be found under the category of General.

 

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) 

General OneFile (Gale)

Issues and Controversies (Facts on File)

Legal Periodicals & Books (Wilson)

 Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale)

Social Sciences Full Text (Wilson) 

  


 

 

Articles

 

These are a few of the articles that can be found in a search of the database: Opposing Viewpoints:

  • A Government Ban on Internet Gambling Is Hypocritical

    471
    Gambling, http://www.newyorktimes.com 2007

    "A Government Ban on Internet Gambling Is Hypocritical" by Froma Harrop. Gambling. David M. Haugen and Susan Musser,…

  • Internet Gambling Should Be Curbed to Protect the Economy

    238
    Gambling, http://www.newyorktimes.com 2007

    "Internet Gambling Should Be Curbed to Protect the Economy" by Ryan D. Hammer. Gambling. David M. Haugen and Susan…

  • A Short History of Gambling in the United States

    238
    Legalized Gambling, http://www.newyorktimes.com 2006

    "A Short History of Gambling in the United States" by Richard A. McGowan. Legalized Gambling. David M. Haugen, Ed.…