Skip to main content

ENC1101-Honors Literature Resources: Home

This guide is designed to help students with library research as they complete various assignments in Professor Clark's ENC1101-Honors class at the Wolfson Campus.

Research at MDC Libraries

Log in using your student ID and the last four digits of the ID as your pin.

 

Library Catalog 

Articles Databases

eBooks

Ebooks are available through the Miami Dade College Library Catalog.  On the MDC homepage, locate the Libraries link, click on Search Catalog. Log into your library account. Under the Limit to option, select eBooks.  Enter the title of the book, an author's name or story title. Search.

MLA Handout

Literary Criticism

Literary criticism is the interpretation, anaylsis and evaluation of an author and their literary works. Literary criticism may focus on a specific literary work or it may analyse and interpret the author's writings. When searching in the library's catalog or databases, focus on the author, title of the work(s), literary genre and literary themes associated with your subject. 

Online Sources

Miami Dade College Library provides a number of databases useful when researching literary criticism.  You may log into the library using you Student ID number (PIN: last 4 numbers of your Student ID) and search for articles through the LINCCWeb site or you can choose to go to the Databases by Subject section and select Literature.  The recommended databases for literary criticism are:

 

Academic Search Complete Database

 Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)

 

Literature Resources from Gale  

  Literature Resources from Gale

 

Literature Reference Center Plus  Literary Reference Center Plus (EBSCO)

 

Litfinder 

  LitFinder (Gale)

 

Granger's World Poetry  Granger's World Poetry

 

JSTOR Icon 

  JSTOR

Books & Authors (Gale) 

Researching and Writing

Subject Guide

Marta Frydman's picture
Marta Frydman
Contact:
Wolfson Campus Library - Room 1321
300 NE 2nd Ave
Miami
FL, 33132
305-237-3446

For additional help

Wolfson Campus

Library Hours:

 M - TH  7:30 am to 9:00 pm
 F          7:30 am to 5:00 pm
 S          8:00am to 1:00 pm

Citations & Plagiarism

What is Plagiarism?

"The unauthorized use or close imitation of the language and thoughts of another author and the representation of them as one's own original work."

From The Random House Dictionary of the English Language, 2d ed.