Skip to main content

Library Resources: Catalog & Databases

Using the Catalog

Using the Catalog

PDF handout explains how to access the Miami Dade North Campus library catalog, search for items, and understand search results

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan

Sometimes an item you are looking for is not available in the North Campus library, but it can be borrowed from another library for you to pick up and check out here.

  1. If the item is available for request from another campus of Miami Dade, or from another Florida community college, you can request it through the online catalog.

  2. If the item is at a library outside of the community college system, it may be available through interlibrary loan request through the WorldCat database

Instructions for placing requests are found in the following PDF guides:

Printing from Laptops

Printing from Laptops

To print from a laptop in the library or computer courtyard, follow these steps:

o   Enter  https://papercut.mdc.edu:9192/user

o   Enter  Username (1st name dot last name 001, etc.) and Password.

o   Click  “Log in.”

o   Click  “Web Print” on the left side.

o   Click on  “Submit a Job” on the right side.

o   Select a printer: black and white, or color

·         Click 8  sp2p1\PRS_BW (virtual) [for black and white] MDC on any campus

·         Click 8  sp2p1\PRS_Color (virtual) [for color] MDC on any campus

o   Click  “2. Print Options and Account Selection” on the right side at the bottom.

o   Under “Options,” click  “Copies:” 1, etc.

o   Click  “3. Upload Document.”

o   Click  “Browse…” and search for document.

o   Click  “Upload & Complete.”

o   Go to Print Release Station. It is necessary to log in and follow the instructions to pick up copy/copies.


 

 

Using Databases

Using Databases

These PDF handouts have Instructions for accessing and logging in, and some search tips for using Miami Dade College Library databases.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar

Yes, scholarly articles are also available in Google.  However, the full text is not freely available for all the articles.  A few are free, and if the article is available in any of the Miami Dade College databases, this link (Find Text Via LINCCWeb) will provide access to the full text.

 




Click on the link below for  a PDF handout tips on how to use Google Scholar on campus or off campus.