Skip to main content

LIS2004 Internet Research: Home

This guide is for the use of LIS2004 students at Wolfson Campus (Fall 2013).

Research at MDC Libraries

Log in using your student ID and the last four digits of the ID as your pin.

 

Library Catalog 

Articles Databases

LIS2004 Syllabus

Assignments and Course Project

The final grade is based upon the satisfactory completion of the following activities:

Assignments (Four Total)

60%

60 points (15 points each)

Course Project

20%

20 points

Course Final

20%

20 points

There are a total of four graded assignments, a course project and a course final exam for a total of 100 points.

There also will be additional exercises following a lesson to check understanding of material.

As the semester progresses you will have directions on what you need to do to submit an assignment.

 

Welcome to LIS2004
Introduction to Internet Research

Course Outline

LIS 2004 Introduction to Internet Research is a one-credit hour course. The course focuses on methods of accessing information resources available through the Internet. Students will learn how to design effective search strategies, retrieve, evaluate, and cite Internet resources.

  • Course Introduction -- What is the Internet?
    If you are a novice Internet user, this reading will help prepare you for the course. It provides an introduction to using the Internet as an information resource, a brief history of the Internet, and information about how the Internet works.
  • Lesson 1 -- Internet Communication
    Introduces Internet communication tools, including electronic mail and discussion groups such as mailing lists, groups, chat, and web conferencing. Discusses basic rules of netiquette, which define appropriate behavior for Internet communication.
  • Lesson 2 -- Research Strategies
    Covers selecting a topic and planning a research strategy. Includes an introduction to keyword and Boolean search techniques which may be used with many Internet search tools and with most electronic library databases and reference tools.
  • Lesson 3 -- Web Search Engines
    Provides tips and strategies for using Web search engines and meta-search engines effectively and efficiently.
  • Lesson 4 -- Other Web Tools
    Discusses the difference between search engines and directories, explains metasites and covers file format and multimedia searching.
  • Lesson 5 -- Library Databases
    An increasing number of information resources are available via the Internet only to libraries or organizations who subscribe for a fee. Introduces several subscription-based resources available via your community college library.
  • Lesson 6 -- Evaluating Internet Resources
    Explains how to evaluate Internet resources for usefulness and reliability.
  • Lesson 7 --Documenting Internet Resources
    Explains and provides examples for documenting Internet and online subscription-based resources using the MLA and APA citation formats.
  • The Glossary provides definitions of terminology used in this course.

 

Licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution Share Alike 3.0 License

Copyright © 1997-2009 Florida Community College, Learning Resources Standing Committee. Last revised May 2009 by the LIS 2004 Course Revision Committee.

Subject Guide

Marta Frydman's picture
Marta Frydman
Contact:
Wolfson Campus Library - Room 1321
300 NE 2nd Ave
Miami
FL, 33132
305-237-3446

Office Hours

Monday - Friday

9 AM - 10 AM (Room 1321)

Wolfson Library

Ask a Librarian

Need more Help?