Skip to main content

BSC1050H Biology and Environment: Home

This information pathfinder is designed to help students with library research as they complete various assignments in Professor Migliaccio's class at the Wolfson Campus.

Research at MDC Libraries

Log in using your student ID and the last four digits of the ID as your pin.

 

Library Catalog 

Articles Databases

Research Basics

  • Start by identifying important concepts in your search question as you search databases or the Internet for information on your topic.
  • Think of related or similar terms (synonyms) that could substitute for your concepts. These may be broader or more specific terms than your original concepts. Brainstorm!
  • It can be helpful to write these down. You may need to refer back to them.

SAMPLE TOPIC:
How has the use of fracking impacted water quality and the environment?

Concepts

Fracking

Environment

Impact



Key Terms

hydraulic fracturing
drilling
injecting fluids

radioactivity water supplies, wildlife
environment, ecology

consequences
aspects, costs

SAMPLE SEARCH

"fracking" AND ("wildlife" OR "environment") AND impact

Researching and Writing

What's in this Guide?

Welcome to the research guide for biology sciences. This guide provides links to the most useful databases and resources for identifying and locating information for your topic.  

Primo, the online catalogue of Miami Dade College, contains a wealth of information on environmental sciences and related topics. Searching is by author, title, keyword, subject, and call number. In our catalogue you can find books, videos, reference materials, and periodicals. Material is catalogued by Library of Congress Subject Headings. Depending on your topic, the following subject headings may get you started in your search:

alternative energy sources, green energy, solar energy, renewable resources, sustainable energy, ecosystem managementenvironmental impact analysis, environmental impact statements, environmental law, environmental management, environmental permits, natural areas,

A good way to search is by keyword. Using the keyword search option you can combine various keywords together using AND, OR, and parentheses. If you wanted to find information on acid rain in Maine or Vermont your search might look like this:

acid* and (rain or precipitation) and (maine or vermont)

where the * is a truncation symbol (wildcard) retrieving all variant endings (acid, acidic, acidity, acidify, etc.)

Indexes and Databases

The following indexes and databases cover a broad range of subjects related to the environmental sciences, including agriculture, aquatic sciences, biological sciences, engineering, ecology, and pollution.

Reference Books

Subject Guide

Marta Frydman's picture
Marta Frydman
Contact:
Wolfson Campus Library - Room 1321
300 NE 2nd Ave
Miami
FL, 33132
305-237-3446

Citations & Plagiarism

What is Plagiarism?

"The unauthorized use or close imitation of the language and thoughts of another author and the representation of them as one's own original work."

From The Random House Dictionary of the English Language, 2d ed.