Skip to main content

BSC2010 LAB, Principles of Biology I Laboratory: Home

This guide is an information pathfinder to help students in Prof. Morata's Principles of Biology I Laboratory class.

Research at MDC Libraries

Log in using your student ID and the last four digits of the ID as your pin.

BSC2010 LibGuide 

Library Catalog 

Articles Databases

Research Basics

  • Start by identifying important concepts in your search question as you search databases or the Internet for information on your topic.
  • Think of related or similar terms (synonyms) that could substitute for your concepts. These may be broader or more specific terms than your original concepts. Brainstorm!
  • It can be helpful to write these down. You may need to refer back to them.

SAMPLE TOPIC:
How acidification of the environment affects phosynthesis? 

Concepts

Acidification

Photosynthesis

Impact



Key Terms

acidity, PH

chlorophyl, plant biology, chrloroplast

consequences
affects, effects

SAMPLE SEARCH

"acidification" AND ("marine plants" OR "algae") AND effects

How to Read a Scientific Article

Credits: Youtube (http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=yEXU0EOGvdg & Kenyon College

What's in this Guide?

Welcome to the research guide for biology sciences lab. This information pathfinder provides guidelines to write science reports and links to the most useful databases and resources for identifying and locating information for your topic.  

Primo, the online catalogue of Miami Dade College, contains a wealth of information on environmental sciences and related topics. Searching is by author, title, keyword, subject, and call number. In our catalogue you can find books, videos, reference materials, and periodicals. Material is catalogued by Library of Congress Subject Headings. Depending on your topic, the following subject headings may get you started in your search:

botany, biochemistry,
biolog* and research and methodology 
mitosis, meiosis, genetics, DNA,  
cell? and aging
cytology, "cell structure"
plant genetic? Photosynthesis
osmosis, enzymes, fermentation

  • Catalog tips and tricks:
    • Keyword searches – use quotation marks to hold phrases together ("cell division")
    • Truncation – use * after the root of a word to find all its variants (cell* finds cell, cells, cellular)
    • Browse the Subject(s) field in records to find the right words for searches. (Example: Try doing a keyword search for "cell biology," then look at the subject(s) field in several records. You’ll see that the subject term is "cytology." Click the subject heading to find more records with this subject.)
  • Revise and refine your searches.
  • Watch for repeating call numbers and browse stacks in that area.
  • Pay attention to the Location and Status fields. You will need this information to locate the item in the library

A good way to search is by keyword. Using the keyword search option you can combine various keywords together using AND, OR, and parentheses. If you wanted to find information on acid rain in Maine or Vermont your search might look like this:

acid* and (rain or precipitation) and (maine or vermont)

where the * is a truncation symbol (wildcard) retrieving all variant endings (acid, acidic, acidity, acidify, etc.)

Indexes and Databases

The following indexes and databases cover a broad range of subjects related to the biological sciences.

Subject Guide

Marta Frydman's picture
Marta Frydman
Contact:
Wolfson Campus Library - Room 1321
300 NE 2nd Ave
Miami
FL, 33132
305-237-3446

Citations & Plagiarism

What is Plagiarism?

"The unauthorized use or close imitation of the language and thoughts of another author and the representation of them as one's own original work."

From The Random House Dictionary of the English Language, 2d ed.

 

Researching and Writing