Skip to main content

Collection Overview - Philosophy: Faculty Resources

A guide to conducting philosophy research at Miami Dade College (MDC), including faculty resources, information about MDC’s philosophy collection, and links to Web-based resources.
Faculty Resources
Schedule Library Instruction

Use this form or contact a librarian at your campus to request library instruction for your classes(s). Library instruction typically covers databases, citation resources, and the use of outside resources. We can also customize our presentations to focus on particular research topics and assignments.

Suggest Something for the Collection

Let us know if you'd like us to purchase something for the humanities collection. We value your input and we will make every effort to accommodate your request.

Place Something on Reserve

Contact a reserve coordinator to place something on reserve. Reserve materials may be designated for in-library use only, or may circulate according to your instructions.

Consult a Subject Librarian

Contact a subject librarian for research assistance, to get recommendations on library materials, and to learn more about designing effective information-literacy assignments

Reference Desk Numbers

Give us a call—we look forward to being of assistance.
North Campus:
305-237-1183
Kendall Campus:
305-237-2292
305-237-2077
Wolfson Campus:
305-237-3451
305-237-4087
Medical Campus:
305-237-4129
Homestead Campus:
305-237-5053
InterAmerican Campus:
305-237-6236
Hialeah Campus:
305-237-8722
West Campus:
305-237-8931
Carrie P. Meek Entrepreneurial Education Center:
305-237-1905

Creative Commons logo

As explained by Creative Commons, CC licenses allow creative material to be shared and reused under terms that are flexible and legally sound. Visit the Creative Commons website for information, tools, and FAQs relating to CC copyright licenses. Another great resource is Made with Creative Commons, which covers a variety of topics, including a discussion of the different types of Creative Commons licenses.

Open Educational Resources

As explained by UNESCO, Open Educational Resources (OERs) are any type of educational materials that are in the public domain or introduced with an open license. The nature of these open materials means that anyone can legally and freely copy, use, adapt and re-share them. OERs range from textbooks to curricula, syllabi, lecture notes, assignments, tests, projects, audio, video and animation. Learn more about OERs here and check out our OER LibGuide for ideas about how to use OERs in your classes.

Copyright and Fair Use

As explained by the University of Chicago’s Copyright Information Center, copyright law provides for the principle, commonly called "fair use" that the reproduction of copyright works for certain limited, educational purposes, does not constitute copyright infringement. The Copyright Act establishes a four factor test, the "fair use test," to use to determine whether a use of a copyrighted work is fair use that does not require the permission of the copyright owner. The fair use test is highly fact specific, and much can turn on seemingly insignificant variations on the proposed use. Visit the University of Chicago’s Copyright Information Center website to learn more about fair use, and other copyright topics including the public domain.

Arts and Humanities Commons

The Arts and Humanities Commons™ contains more than 304,000 open-access, full-text articles relating to the humanities disciplines. Here you'll find academic articles on topics ranging from music to art and design to feminist, gender, and sexuality studies. 

Best Practices for Fair Use in Teaching for Film and Media Educators

The Society for Cinema and Media Studies’ Statement of Best Practices for Fair Use in Teaching for Film and Media Educators is an excellent resource that addresses issues concerning the permissible use of media for teaching.

This LibGuide was designed and created and is maintained by Michael Moore. User suggestions and comments are welcome.

The icons used in this LibGuide were produced by Icons8 and are used under a Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported license. Hand-drawn signature typeface, Tuesday Night, by Font Forestry. Color-highlight designs by Samui.