This course explores the interaction between psychology and the legal system. Students will learn the foundations, history, and terminology of forensic psychology and the influence of media and cultural issues. Students will also learn about the forensic psychologists role in criminal and civil proceedings, public policy, law enforcement, and victimization. This guide has been created to highlight resources available through the library that are useful for this course.
To log into a database:
Springer eJournal Collection provides full text access in a variety of topics, including mathematics, economics, ecology, religion, history and more. Coverage for most titles begins in the late 1990s.
Article Examples: Jury Deliberation Bystander Effect Study
PsychARTICLES (EBSCO) provides full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It contains more than 100,000 articles from 59 journals - 48 published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and 11 from allied organizations.
Article Examples: Insanity Plea Psych Evaluations and Juveniles
Forensic Psych and Correctional Psych
Criminal Justice (ProQuest) covers a wide variety of criminal justice topics, including corrections administration, law enforcement, social work, industrial security, drug rehabilitation, and criminal and family law. Full-text and image coverage for about 50 journals.
Article Examples: Self Incrimination Law Enforcement Stress Coping Strategies
SIRS Researcher (SIRS) integrated online access to full-text articles and Internet resources from SIRS reference databases - SIRS Researcher, SIRS Government Reporter, SIRS Renaissance and SIRS NetSelect. SIRS products provide relevant, credible information on social issues, science, history, government, and the arts and humanities.
Example Issue: Should courts be allowed to sentence juveniles as adults?
