Skip to main content

Intersectional Feminism: Home

A guide to conducting research on intersectional feminism using Miami Dade College and Internet resources.

The word Welcome in hand-drawn signature typeface

This research guide focuses on intersectional feminism. Below you'll find topic-relevant books, articles, and videos; useful research tools and services; and information about our library, including how to access its resources.

Michael Moore's picture
Michael Moore
Contact:
Miami Dade College
Kendall Campus
Miami, FL 33176
(305) 237-2072
Website


USEFUL RESOURCES

The dynamics of intersectionality are similar to a kaleidoscope: As one shifts the lens (context), the colors and shapes of the image (power, privilege, and disadvantage) change.

 

— M A R G O  O K A Z A W A–R E Y



   INTERSECTIONAL FEMINISM RESOURCES

The following selected print books address feminist issues, including intersectionality. Find more titles in the MDC Library Catalog.


The following selected eBooks address feminist issues, including intersectionality. Find more titles here.


Below are selected journal articles that discuss topics related to feminism and intersectionality. Some items require MDC login credentials (see instructions at the top of the right-hand column).


The following selected videos address intersection feminism and other related issues.


The following selected films address feminist issues. Search for additional DVDs here, and be sure to check out our Kanopy collection, our Swank collection, and our Films on Demand collection to find more topic-relevant content.


Log in to the following databases to access peer-reviewed sources. Additional databases can be found here.

ACADEMIC ONEFILE contains peer-reviewed, full-text articles for academic libraries from the world's leading journals. A comprehensive resource that covers the physical and social sciences, technology, medicine, engineering, the arts, technology, literature, and many other subjects. (Gale) Log on to Academic OneFile with your borrower ID and PIN.

ACADEMIC SEARCH COMPLETE supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing journals, periodicals, reports, books and more. (EBSCO) Log on to Academic Search Complete with your Borrower ID and PIN.

HUMANITIES FULL TEXT provides full text, abstracts and bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as specialized magazines. (EBSCO) Log on to Humanities Full Text with your borrower ID and PIN.

HUMANITIES SOURCE is a valuable full-text database covering literary, scholarly and creative thought. It provides full text, indexing and abstracts for the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities. (EBSCO) Log on to Humanities Source with your borrower ID and PIN.

JSTOR provides access to more than 10 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. (JSTOR) Log on to JSTOR with your borrower ID and PIN.

SAGE is the world's 5th largest journals publisher. SAGE's portfolio includes more than 1000 journals spanning the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology, and Medicine, and more than 400 are published on behalf of learned societies and institutions. (SAGE Publishing) Log on to SAGE Journals with your borrower ID and PIN.

Loading ...
Library Resources

LOGIN INFORMATION

Follow these steps to access content that requires an MDC Borrower ID and PIN.

  • Enter your current MDC student or employee number in the box labeled “Borrower ID”

  • Enter the last four digits of your current MDC student or employee number in the box labeled “PIN/Password”


LIBRARY CATALOG

Use the MDC Library Catalog to search for print books, eBooks, audiobooks, articles, and audio-visual materials.


UBORROW

UBorrow allows MDC students, staff, and faculty to borrow materials from any Florida public university or college library. Search the statewide catalog here.


WORLD CAT

Search WorldCat, the world's largest network of library content and services.


INTERLIBRARY LOAN

Need something from another library? Use this form to request items through inter-campus or inter-library loan.


DIGITAL MAGAZINES

Flipster is a free, digital-magazine service that gives MDC users access to magazines on any computer or device. This wide-ranging collection includes content that may be of interest to humanities and feminist scholarship.

Citation Resources


CITATION TOOLS

In most databases, you can find MLA- and APA-formatted citations under headings like "Tools" and "Page Tools." Learn more about MLA citation and APA citation formats.


AVOIDING PLAGIARISM

In most databases, you can find MLA- and APA-formatted citations under headings like "Tools" and "Page Tools." Learn more about MLA citation and APA citation formats.

Database Search Strategies
  • Try different search fields
  • Use filters to limit searches
  • Use filters to refine results

Different databases may look different but they can all be used in similar ways. Go to a database’s Help function for instructions on search features. And remember: Don't reinvent the wheel! Search your article database for items from the bibliographies that occur at the end of journal articles or in books that you've already found on your topic.

Adapted from the UC Santa Cruz University Library research guide "Start Your Research." Used under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported (CC BY 3.0) license.


GOOGLE SCHOLAR SEARCH STARTER

Click the search button below, and then add your own search terms. To search for MDC materials off campus, follow these steps: Click the triple-bar (hamburger) button, then select Settings => Library Links => type in "Miami Dade College" => Select => Save.


RESEARCH TIPS

Check out the following resources for ideas and strategies relating to effective research:

Need Help?


REFERENCE DESK NUMBERS

Give us a call—we look forward to being of assistance.
North Campus:
305-237-1183
Kendall Campus:
305-237-2292
305-237-2077
Wolfson Campus:
305-237-3451
305-237-4087
Medical Campus:
305-237-4129
Homestead Campus:
305-237-5053
InterAmerican Campus:
305-237-6236
Hialeah Campus:
305-237-8722
West Campus:
305-237-8931
Carrie P. Meek Entrepreneurial Education Center:
305-237-1905


ASK A LIBRARIAN

Text, email, or start a chat with the Ask a Librarian service between 10:00 a.m. and 12:00 p.m. Sunday through Thursday, and between 10:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m. Friday and Saturday.

This LibGuide was designed and created and is maintained by Michael Moore. User suggestions and comments are welcome.

The icons used in this LibGuide were produced by Icons8 and are used under a Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported license. Hand-drawn signature typeface, Tuesday Night, by Font Forestry. Special thanks to Dr. Amy Lund, Professor, Miami Dade College for requesting this LibGuide and suggesting various resources.