Skip to main content

LIS 1001 Fall 2014 Prof. Frydman: Syllabus

For LIS 1001 - Library Research - at Wolfson Campus, Mondays 5:40 P.M. to 8:10 P.M.

Syllabus

SYLLABUS LIS 1001

 

 

 

Fall Semester 2014 – LIS 1001 – Library Research

 

Instructor: Marta Frydman, Associate Professor/Librarian

Email: mfrydman@mdc.edu

Telephone: 305-237-3446

Office Hours: Wolfson: Mondays and Wednesdays 3:30 P.M. to 5:30 P.M. (or by appointment)

Required Textbook: There is no required textbook for this course.

________________________________________________________________________

 

Course Philosophy

As society moves further into the information age, students are increasingly challenged by the explosion of digital information, and are particularly overwhelmed by the wealth and diversity of resources on the Internet. In this environment it is critical that students acquire search skills to locate relevant information using many sources, including the college library and the Internet, and develop the ability to evaluate the credibility of these resources.

 

Performance Objectives

Upon the successful completion of this course, students will be able to:

• Devise effective search strategies to utilize library resources

• Have an awareness of the many formats available for research, including information found in electronic databases and in print form.

• Demonstrate competence in using keyword and Boolean search techniques

• Judge the relevancy and authority of Internet materials

• Document library resources

 

Course Competencies

Upon successful completion of this course, you will be able to:

·  Determine the nature and extent of the information you need. (For example, if you have a research paper assignment, you will know how to familiarize yourself with the topic, identify its key concepts, and decide what you need to focus on.)

·  Demonstrate an understanding of how information is organized and made available in libraries, within databases, and on the internet.

·  Choose relevant information resources such as reference materials, books and eBooks, periodicals, databases, and websites.

·  Employ Boolean operators, keywords, subject headings, and database thesauri to develop effective search strategies.

·  Assess various information sources for reliability, validity, accuracy, authority, timeliness, and bias.

·  Describe the academic research process and the structure of an article that is based on a research study.

·  Extract the main ideas from the information you find.

·  Explain the ethical and legal considerations of copyright and plagiarism.

·  Explain the economic and social issues related to the access and use of information.

·  Demonstrate proficiency in applying APA and/or MLA documentation styles.

 

Grading

The course consists of four graded assignments, a Midterm Examination and a Final Project.

To earn credit for the class the completion of all assignments and exams is required.

Grading Criteria:

The final grade is based upon the satisfactory completion of the components listed above.

Required Textbook:

There is no required textbook for this course. Each week you will receive handouts as required readings. Any further reading will be provided to you in class or via e-mail.

Important Details:

Within the first two weeks of the semester, you must attend class or you may be dropped from the course.

Each assignment should be turned in to your instructor on the date it is due.

The course syllabus indicates the dates all assignments are due. Be sure to save or print a copy of your answers to each assignment.

If you need to use a computer, we have computers available in the library and in the Computer Courtyard.

Please do not hesitate to email or call your instructor with any questions.

 

Course Calendar

August 25 -Orientation Session. You will be given the course syllabus.
Discussion on the Library layout, policies and procedures.
How to locate books and eBooks using the library’s online catalog.

Assignment #1 (15 points): Locate a book in MDC library about “personality disorders”. Provide: title, author, year of publication, and call number. Due September 8.


September 1 - Labor Day, no class.


September 8 – Searching for “other” media in our catalog. Using other community college and local Library catalogs.


September - 15- Using indexes to locate periodicals using the Gale Suite of Electronic Databases.

September 22 - Learn more about subject specific databases. Psychology databases.

September 29 – Assignment #2 (15 points) Find an article in MDC library databases about “personality disorders”. Provide: title, author, journal title, year of publication, and database. Work in class on the online database assignment.

October 6 - Midterm exam. Introduce Reference Books as Resources. Psychology Reference books.

October 13 - Internet Research, search engines, web page evaluation. Psychology Web Sites.

October 20 - Copyright, Quoting vs. Paraphrasing and Plagiarism

October 27 - Assignment #3 (15 points) Find a psychology professional website. Provide: website title, authorship, last date updated, purpose of website, and URL. Work in class on the Internet/Reference Assignment.

November 3 - The research paper. Introduce citation styles.

November 10 - Citing books, periodicals and electronic resources using APA style.

November 17 - Citing books, periodicals and electronic resources using other writing styles.

November 24 - Assignment #4 (15 points). Library skills exercises, to be distribute by instructor. Choose topics for final research project.

December 1 - Work on Final projects, discussion and consultation on project.

December 8 – Bibliography page for Projects are due.

December 15 - Projects presentation in class.

 

Grading Scale:

90 - 100 = A

80 – 89 = B

70 – 79 = C

60 – 69 = D

Below 60 = F

Grading Criteria:

Assignments 1, 2, 3, 4 ---- - 60% (Each assignment is worth 15 points.)

Class Participation------ 10%

Midterm and Final Project------- 30% (Each is worth 15 points.)

 

Subject Guide

Marta Frydman's picture
Marta Frydman
Contact:
Wolfson Campus Library - Room 1321
300 NE 2nd Ave
Miami
FL, 33132
305-237-3446