LibGuides: Research & Writing Guides: Recommended Databases

About This Page

Not sure which of our databases to try? The recommendations on this page can help.

To log into a database, enter your MDC username and password.

Need Help?

Librarians are available to assist you at your campus library Reference Desk or through the statewide Ask-a-Librarian service: Chat | Email | Text

What Subject Are You Researching?

Jump To:

Art & Architecture

Art & Architecture Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Flipster (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Contains digitized issues of ARTNews, Art in America, Architectural Digest, HGTV Magazine, and Florida Design.
GreenFILE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Contains articles on a variety of environmental issues including sustainable design, urban growth, etc.
Humanities Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Humanities Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
JSTOR This link opens in a new window

ARTStor This link opens in a new window
- NOTE: ARTStor requires that you register for an account in order to gain full access to the database.
- Pro tip: Once your ARTStor account is created and you're logged in, enter the search term "virtual reality panoramas" to find panoramic views of a number of historic buildings.

See also the digital collections listed on this website: Architecture & Interior Design - Library Resources for Students: More Resources

eBook Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window

Films on Demand (Infobase Publishing) This link opens in a new window
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
PBS Video (Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new window

Business & Economics

Business (Gale OneFile) (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Business Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Consumer Reports (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Entrepreneurship (Gale Business) (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Hospitality & Tourism Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Regional Business News (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window

AtoZdatabases: Search Jobs, Businesses, or Mailing Lists This link opens in a new window
Business Insights: Essentials (Gale) This link opens in a new window
MarketLine Intelligence Center This link opens in a new window

DemographicsNow (Gale) This link opens in a new window

eBook Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window

Films on Demand (Infobase Publishing) This link opens in a new window
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
PBS Video (Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new window

Business Skills (Sage Publications) This link opens in a new window

Careers

AtoZdatabases: Search Jobs, Businesses, or Mailing Lists This link opens in a new window
Student Success Skills (Sage Publications) This link opens in a new window
Peterson’s Test Prep (Gale) This link opens in a new window

Criminal Justice & Law

Criminal Justice (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Legal Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window

eBook Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Infobase eBooks (Infobase Publishing) This link opens in a new window

Films on Demand (Infobase Publishing) This link opens in a new window
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
PBS Video (Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new window

Education & Psychology

Education Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Education Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Educators Reference Complete (Gale OneFile) (Gale) This link opens in a new window
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Professional Collection (Gale OneFile) (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Teacher Reference Center (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window

APA PsycArticles (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Health and Wellness (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Social Sciences Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window

eBook Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window

Films on Demand (Infobase Publishing) This link opens in a new window
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
PBS Video (Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new window

General Topics & Controversial Issues

Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
See the video below for an overview of some of this database's most useful features.
Academic Select (Gale OneFile) (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Flipster (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
General OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Informe Académico (Gale OneFile) (Gale) This link opens in a new window
MasterFILE Premier (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
OmniFile Full Text Mega Edition (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Readers' Guide Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window

CQ Researcher Plus Archive (CQ Press) This link opens in a new window
Issues & Controversies (Infobase Publishing) This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) (Gale) This link opens in a new window
SIRS Researcher This link opens in a new window

Digital Collection (ABC-CLIO) This link opens in a new window
eBook Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Gale E-Books (Gale) This link opens in a new window

Films on Demand (Infobase Publishing) This link opens in a new window
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
PBS Video (Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new window

History & Biography

African American Experience (ABC-CLIO) This link opens in a new window
America: History & Life (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
American Indian Experience (ABC-CLIO) This link opens in a new window
ArchiveGrid (OCLC) This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher Plus Archive (CQ Press) This link opens in a new window
Daily Life Through History (ABC-CLIO) This link opens in a new window
History Reference Center (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
New York Times - Historical (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Sources in U.S. History Online: Civil War (Gale) This link opens in a new window

Biography (Gale in Context) (Gale) This link opens in a new window

ArchiveGrid (OCLC) This link opens in a new window
ARTStor This link opens in a new window
History Vault: Slavery, the Slave Trade, and Law and Order in the 19th Century (1636-1880) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Music Online Listening (Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new window
In addition to vintage sound recordings, this database provides access to digitized collections of historical documents, monographs, and personal narratives. Once inside the database, click MENU, then open the My Collections drop-down menu to find:
- Black Thought and Culture
- Civil War Letters and Diaries
- North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories
- North American Women's Letters and Diaries

eBook Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Infobase eBooks (Infobase Publishing) This link opens in a new window
Gale E-Books (Gale) This link opens in a new window

Films on Demand (Infobase Publishing) This link opens in a new window
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
PBS Video (Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new window

See also these online history video collections:

Biography.com's YouTube Channel
Crash Course Videos:
European History | US History | US Government and Politics | World History | World History 2
edX History Courses
HippoCampus: History & Government
Khan Academy:
US History | AP US History | World History | AP World History | US Government and Civics | AP US Government & Politics
MIT OpenCourseWare Audio/Video Lectures: History
NBC News Learn
See also NBC News Learn YouTube Channel
OpenCulture Free Online Courses From Top Universities:
Archaeology | History
Open Yale Courses
TED Talks on History:
Ancient World | Archaeology | History
videolectures.net: Archaeology

Literary Criticism

Literary Reference Center Plus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Literature Resources from Gale This link opens in a new window

Math & Computers

Applied Science & Technology Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Computer Science(Gale OneFile) (Gale) This link opens in a new window
General Science Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Sage Journals (Sage Publications) This link opens in a new window
Science (AAAS.org) This link opens in a new window
Springer eJournal Collection This link opens in a new window
(limited full text)

eBook Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window

Films on Demand (Infobase Publishing) This link opens in a new window
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
PBS Video (Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new window

See also these online math video collections:

Music & Performing Arts

Digital Theatre+ This link opens in a new window
Plays and productions, insights into dramatic texts, backstage interviews, and more.
Medici.tv This link opens in a new window
Classical music videos, concerts, operas, ballets, documentaries, and master classes.
Music Online Listening (Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new window
A streaming audio collection of classical, jazz, folk, and other key musical genres.