It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Black History Month 2018 at Learning Resources, Hialeah Campus: Resources
#AfricanAmericanHistoryMonth or #BlackHistoryMonth honors the vast and varied accomplishments of Black Americans throughout history.
Insert keywords, select a material type, and select the campus where you'd prefer to pick up the item(s).
Items located at other campuses or institutions may be available for Inter-Campus or Inter-Library Loan, simply request the item by selecting the Request Item tab and indicate where you'd like to pick it up.
You will be prompted to log in in order to request items. Have your Borrower ID (student number) and PIN (last four digits of student number) ready.
Take note of the format of the item, the campus where it is housed, and the item's Call Number (e.g. PR6071.F15 A66 2002 or POPBK ROSE) in order to locate it once at the library.
Librarians can help you search the catalog as well as locate items among the shelves and request them from other campuses / institutions.
In addition to books, DVDs, and periodicals, the MDC collection contains a variety of digital resources:
The widest-ranging and easiest-to-use online collection on African American life ever assembled, The African American Experience is the definitive electronic research tool for African American history and culture from one of the most respected publishers in the field.
America: History and Life with Full Text is the definitive database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With selective indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history.
Online experience for those seeking contextual information on the world's most influential people. The new solution merges Gale's authoritative reference content (including Lives & Perspectives) with periodicals and multimedia organized into a user-friendly portal experience while also allowing users to search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender as well as keyword and full text.
Cites biographical articles appearing in any of more than 3,000 periodicals, plus some 2,000 current books of individual and Ccollective biography published each year, and biographical material in otherwise non-biographical books. Besides biographies and autobiographies, it includes citations to interviews, obituaries, collections of letters, diaries, memoirs, juvenile literature, book reviews, bibliographies and exhibition reviews. People covered range from antiquity to the present and represent all fields and nationalities.
Daily Life Online provides content from a vast number of reference works, monographs, and primary documents. Based on the landmark Greenwood Encyclopedia of Daily Life, Greenwood Daily Life Online is supported by an active publishing program to ensure an ever-expanding and updated content base.
Offers a wealth of current topics research information, including pro/con discussions of hot issues, newspaper editorials, numerical snapshots of key topics, photos and graphics, and selected historical source documents.
Provides national and international news, opinion and commentary; published in a national and a New York metropolitan edition. Includes local, and state news, science, sports, arts and entertainment, and business and finance news. Covers January 1, 1985 - Current
"A living document created by Black men and masculine nonbinary people who were inspired by the labor of Black women, the emotional vulnerability of Jay-Z’s 4:44, focusing on Black men’s relationship to masculinity, emotional availability, maturity, sexuality, and Black capitalism."
Published August 27, 2017
February is African American History Month The Library of Congress, National Archives and Records Administration, National Endowment for the Humanities, National Gallery of Art, National Park Service, Smithsonian Institution and United States Holocaust Memorial Museum join in paying tribute to the generations of African Americans who struggled with adversity to achieve full citizenship in American society.
• Literary collections of African-American authors
• Books and artifacts from Africa, the Caribbean, and North/South America
• Small Business Resource Center
• Resources for information on local history
• Free wireless Internet access
• 5,000-square-foot art gallery
In recognition of Black History Month, here are Times articles from the past and present, as well as lesson plans, photographs, videos, infographics, crosswords, writing prompts and more for bringing the wealth of African-American history and culture into your classroom.
Our Teacher's Guide offers a collection of lessons and resources for K-12 social studies, literature, and arts classrooms that center around the achievements, perspectives, and experiences of African Americans across U.S. history. Below you will find materials for teaching and learning about the perspectives of slaves and free African Americans during the American Revolution, the work of the Freedman’s Bureau during and after Reconstruction, the artistry of Jacob Lawrence, the reality faced by African American soldiers returning home after fighting in WWI, the songs and efforts of the Freedom Riders during the long civil rights movements, and the works of Lorraine Hansberry, Langston Hughes, Zora Neale Hurston, and Maya Angelou.