It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
EAP1586 | Professor Porges-West: Welcome
This guide contains resources for students of Professor Ileana Porges-West's EAP1586 courses, Spring 2021
Resources specific to your class and the subject of Information Literacy are organized throughout this LibGuide. It will be updated as necessary so be sure to check back often. Feel free to contact either embedded librarian, Christina or Stephanie, by email or phone. Appointments are encouraged.
Reminder: please take a moment to provide feedback regarding this LibGuide by answering the survey question located on this page at any point during the semester.
Resources for Immersion Based Learning
Below you will find a list of helpful library resources and open-sourced resources that can be used for immersing in your target language. If you are asked to login for any of the library database resources, please use your Miami Dade College student username and password.
One Look Dictionary is a conceptual dictionary that searches a variety of dictionaries and provides examples on how groups of words are related by themes. Results provide definitions, example sentences, related words and phrases.
Watch thousands of streaming films, documentaries and training videos. Kanopy’s award-winning collection includes PBS, Criterion Collection, New Day, California Newsreel, First Run Features, and hundreds of other leading producers -- on every topic imaginable.
Swank Motion Pictures, Inc.®, founded in 1937, is the major non-theatrical movie distributor, online CE/CME education distributor, and public performance licensing agent in venues where feature movies are shown publicly.
Provides national and international news, opinion and commentary; published in a national and a New York metropolitan edition. Includes local & state news, science, sports, arts & entertainment, and business & finance news. Covers January 1, 1985 - Current.
(NewsBank) - Explore Miami history through local news, events, and people with the Miami Herald Collection. Search current and archived issues with full-color newspaper pages, full-text articles, and content only published online.
Testing & Education Reference Center provides a variety of search options to help you find all the information you need on private high schools, distance education, two-year programs, undergraduate and graduate programs and executive education programs. The database can also assist you in writing admission's applications essays or resumes. Preparatory examinations including entrance exams and certification and licensing tests.
Try out practice tests to assess your progress throughout your language learning journey.
Select "Improve Your Score" > then, within "International," you have the option of selecting the following:
The Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL), and
The Test of English for International Communication (TOEIC).