Welcome - EAP1686 | Professor Porges-West - LibGuides at Miami Dade College Learning Resources

Christina Dillon -MDC

She/Her

Email Me

Contact:

Learning Resources, Room 1407
Miami Dade College, Hialeah Campus

305.237.8655 | cmachado@mdc.edu

Subjects: Literature, Speech

Need Help Online?

Please provide feedback

Do you find this LibGuide helpful?

Very: 22 votes (91.67%)

Somewhat: 0 votes (0%)

Not at all: 2 votes (8.33%)

Total Votes: 24

National Geographic Learning

English Language Teaching

21st Century Communication: Listening, Speaking, and Critical Thinking

TED Talks + National Geographic Learning

Welcome to the EAP1686 LibGuide

Resources specific to your class and the subject of Information Literacy are organized throughout this LibGuide. It will be updated as necessary so be sure to check back often. Feel free to contact either embedded librarian, Stephanie or Christina, and Dr. Adeyiga. Appointments are encouraged.

Reminder: please take a moment to provide feedback regarding this LibGuide.

Thank you!

Resources for Immersion Based Learning

Below you will find a list of helpful library resources and open-sourced resources that can be used for immersing in your target language. If you are asked to login for any of the library database resources, please use your Miami Dade College student username and password.

Dictionaries, Audiobooks & eBooks

Merriam-Webster English Dictionary
This online resource provides access to a monolingual American Dictionary of the English Language.
One Look Dictionary
One Look Dictionary is a conceptual dictionary that searches a variety of dictionaries and provides examples on how groups of words are related by themes. Results provide definitions, example sentences, related words and phrases.

OverDrive Digital Media Library This link opens in a new window
(Overdrive) - OverDrive provides access to popular and bestselling eBooks and eAudiobooks. OverDrive’s “Libby” app syncs your loans across all your devices

Funded by: College

Streaming Media

Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Watch thousands of streaming films, documentaries and training videos. Kanopy’s award-winning collection includes PBS, Criterion Collection, New Day, California Newsreel, First Run Features, and hundreds of other leading producers -- on every topic imaginable.

Funded by: College
Swank Motion Pictures This link opens in a new window
Swank Motion Pictures, Inc.®, founded in 1937, is the major non-theatrical movie distributor, online CE/CME education distributor, and public performance licensing agent in venues where feature movies are shown publicly.

Funded by: College

International, National, & Local News

New York Times - Current (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Provides national and international news, opinion and commentary; published in a national and a New York metropolitan edition. Includes local & state news, science, sports, arts & entertainment, and business & finance news. Covers January 1, 1985 - Current.

Funded by: State Library of Florida
Miami Herald (NewsBank) This link opens in a new window
(NewsBank) - Explore Miami history through local news, events, and people with the Miami Herald Collection. Search current and archived issues with full-color newspaper pages, full-text articles, and content only published online.

Funded by: Statewide Allocation

Test Preparation

Testing & Education Reference Center (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Testing & Education Reference Center provides a variety of search options to help you find all the information you need on private high schools, distance education, two-year programs, undergraduate and graduate programs and executive education programs. The database can also assist you in writing admission's applications essays or resumes. Preparatory examinations including entrance exams and certification and licensing tests.

Try out practice tests to assess your progress throughout your language learning journey.

Select "Improve Your Score" > then, within "International," you have the option of selecting the following:

The Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL), and
The Test of English for International Communication (TOEIC).