LibGuides: Florida Native Americans: Overview

Book Resources

Native Americans in Florida by Kevin M. McCarthy; Ted Morris (Illustrator); Dean Quigley (Illustrator)
Call Number: E78.F6 M387 1999
ISBN: 1561641812
Publication Date: 1999-08-01
Traces the history and culture of various Native American tribes in Florida, addressing such topics as mounds and other archeological remains, languages, reservations, wars, and European encroachment.
Florida's First People by Robin C. Brown
Call Number: E78.F6 B76 1994
ISBN: 9781561640324
Publication Date: 1994-03-01
This comprehensive look at the first humans in Florida combines contemporary archaeology, the writings of early European explorers, and experiments to present a vivid history of the state's original inhabitants.
American Indians and State Law by Deborah A. Rosen
Call Number: EBook
ISBN: 9780803239685
Publication Date: 2007-12-01
Examines the history of state and territorial policies, laws, and judicial decisions pertaining to Native Americans. This book reveals how states and territories extended their legislative and judicial authority over American Indians during this period.
Foods of the Southwest Indian Nations by Lois Ellen Frank
Call Number: EBook
ISBN: 9780307814692
Publication Date: February 20, 2013
In this gloriously photographed book, renowned photographer and Native American--food expert Lois Ellen Frank, herself part Kiowa, presents more than 80 recipes that are rich in natural flavors and perfectly in tune with today's healthy eating habits.

Recommended Databases

American Indian Experience (ABC-CLIO) This link opens in a new window
Full-text digital resource exploring the histories and contemporary cultures of the indigenous peoples of the United States. American Indian Experience offers full-text access to an online library, featuring more than 150 volumes of reference content, hundreds of primary documents, and thousands of images. From prehistory to the present day, from the Inuit of the north to the Seminoles of Florida.
Biography (Gale in Context) (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Online experience for those seeking contextual information on the world's most influential people.
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia database contains over 25,000 records, covering a wide range of topics. Full text and images are available.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Watch thousands of streaming films, documentaries and training videos at http://mdc.kanopystreaming.com [...] on every topic imaginable.

Online Resources

Native American Tribes of Florida
Native Languages of the Americas
Indigenous Peoples of Florida
Wikipedia
Native Americans in Florida
Department of State | Division of Library and Information Services
Florida's Native American Tribes, History & Culture
By Brenda Swann | Visit Florida
Florida of the Indians
Florida History
Native American Maps of Florida
Florida Center for Instructional Technology, College of Education, University of South Florida
Native Americans: History and Culture of Florida Tribes
Orange County library System
National Museum of the American Indian
Smithsonian
Florida Native American Heritage Trail
A Florida Heritage Publication
Florida Department of State
Florida Memory
State and Library Archives of Florida
Florida
South Florida State College LibGuide on Florida history, culture, wildlife, fiction, and other topics.
Everglades National Park – One of the World’s Great Biological Wonders

News

New Brew: The Native American Women Upending Craft Beer
New Mexico’s Bow & Arrow brewery is reimagining a predominantly white, male industry using tribal traditions
By Samuel Gilbert and Mike Graham | The Guardian
December 28, 2018