|
Course |
Strategies for Online Research |
|
Course ID |
LIS2004 |
|
Class Number |
15795 |
|
Course Credits |
1 |
|
Term |
Spring 2022, 2nd Eight Weeks |
|
Term Dates |
March 7, 2022 to April 29, 2022 |
|
Modality |
MDC LIVE –We will meet in our virtual classroom via Zoom. |
|
Meeting Times |
Synchronous online meetings each Tuesday and Thursday from 8:00 AM to 8:50 AM |
|
Homepage |
|
|
Course Textbook |
There are no required textbooks for this course. This Library Guide will serve as your textbook. |
|
Instructor |
Lizeth Garcia |
|
Office |
Homestead Campus, Building D, Office 113-8 |
|
Office Hours |
Flexible and by appointment |
|
Phone |
(305) 237-5021 |
|
|
|
|
Homepage |
|
|
Response Policy |
Monday through Friday when MDC is in session |
LIS 2004, Strategies for Online Research, focuses on critical thinking skills for online research. Students will learn how to access, evaluate, and use information efficiently and ethically. (1 hr. lecture)
1. Communicate effectively using listening, speaking, reading, and writing skills
2. Use quantitative analytical skills to evaluate and process numerical data
3. Solve problems using critical and creative thinking and scientific reasoning
4. Formulate strategies to locate, evaluate, and apply information
5. Demonstrate knowledge of diverse cultures, including global and historical perspectives
6. Create strategies that can be used to fulfill personal, civic, and social responsibilities
7. Demonstrate knowledge of ethical thinking and its application to issues in society
8. Use computer and emerging technologies effectively
9. Demonstrate an appreciation for aesthetics and creative activities
10. Describe how natural systems function and recognize the impact of humans on the environment
Upon completion of this course, the student will be able to:
Competency 1
Determine the nature and extent of the information needed by:
a. Exploring general information sources to increase familiarity with the topic.
b. Defining or modifying the information need to achieve a manageable focus.
c. Identifying keywords and terms that describe the information need.
Competency 2
Locate information effectively by:
a. Demonstrating an understanding of how information is organized and disseminated online.
b. Choosing relevant electronic information sources.
c. Employing appropriate search strategies, such as Boolean operators, keywords, subject headings, and database thesauri.
Competency 3
Evaluate information critically by:
a. Recognizing the relevance of information to fulfill the research need.
b. Describing the structure of an academic article which is based on a research study. This includes abstract, literature review, methods, results, discussion, recommendations, and references.
c. Reviewing information from various sources in order to assess reliability, validity, accuracy, authority, timeliness, and point of view or bias.
Competency 4
Apply information literacy skills by:
a. Recognizing the ethical and legal considerations of copyright and plagiarism.
b. Demonstrating proficiency in applying APA and/or MLA documentation styles.
This is a virtual class. Prepare your computer before the first day of class to be sure you can access Canvas and are familiar with this learning management system. You will need access to your computer’s microphone and camera.
To log in to Canvas visit, https://mdc.instructure.com. Use your MDC username and password to login
Below is a list of technical skills you will need to succeed in this course.
|
Grade Components |
Percentage of Final Grade |
|
Annotated Bibliography |
30% |
|
Discussion Posts |
30% |
|
Attendance/Participation |
30% |
|
Civic Action Scorecard |
10% |
|
Total |
100% |
|
A |
90-100% |
|
B |
80-89% |
|
C |
70-79% |
|
D |
60-69% |
|
F |
59% and below |
|
Date |
Topic |
Assignment |
|
3/7-3/11 |
Course Introduction Research as Inquiry What is research? How to formulate a research topic How to develop a research question Searching as Strategic Exploration Identifying keywords Creating a thesis statement The basic features of library databases
|
Discussion Post Activity 1 and 2
|
|
3/14-3/18 |
Authority is Constructed and Contextual Evaluating Sources Information Creation as a Process The Information Cycle |
Discussion Post Activity 3 Review the SIFT or ACT UP method to verify a news story
|
|
3/21-3/25 |
Research as Inquiry Library Databases Advanced-search features of library databases Boolean Operators |
Discussion Post Activity 4 Choose appropriate search terms to locate 3 articles on your topic. Save the permalinks. |
|
3/28-4/1 |
Authority is Constructed and Contextual Primary v. Secondary Research Popular v. Scholarly Sources Literature Review v. Research Article |
Discussion Post Activity 5
Locate 2 articles on your topic, one literature review and one reporting original research. Save the permalinks. |
|
4/4-4/8 |
Information Has Value Avoiding Plagiarism
|
Discussion Post Activity 6
Why is it important to remember your copyright responsibilities? Why is it important to avoid plagiarism? Why is it important to be sure the information you and others share is correct?
|
|
4/11-4/15 |
Scholarship as Conversation Citing Your Sources (APA) Citing Your Sources (MLA)
|
Discussion Post Activity 7 Provide the annotation (APA) for one of your five articles. |
|
4/18-4/22 |
Scholarship as Conversation Annotated Bibliography (APA)
|
Discussion Post Activity 8 Provide the annotation (APA) for two of your five articles.
|
|
4/25-4/29 |
Research Allies Learning Resources Ask A Librarian
|
Annotated Bibliography Provide the annotation (APA) for your remaining two articles.
|
|
Attendance |
Attendance is mandatory and crucial to the successful completion of this course. If illness or personal issues prevent you from attending class, contact me to explain and provide documentation. If you are absent 3 consecutive times without contacting me, you will be dropped from the class. If you miss class, you are responsible for all material covered in class. Assignments are due on the date provided in class. |
|
Tardiness |
You must be present for at least two-thirds of the class session to earn attendance credit for that day. |
|
Activity Requirements |
This course requires active student participation. You are expected to participate in class discussions, submit online discussion posts, and complete class assignments. |
|
Academic Honesty |
Plagiarism is not tolerated at MDC. Be sure you are familiar with and adhere to MDC’s policies regarding academic dishonesty as described in the Student’s Rights and Responsibilities Handbook, http://www.mdc.edu/policy/student_rights_and_responsibilities.pdf. |
|
Access Students |
Students with a documented learning disability are entitled to certain special accommodations by law. Please visit the ACCESS Disability Services Department (A Building, Rm. 112, or call 305-237-5175) for more information. Students must have a letter from ACCESS services in order for their disability to be considered documented. |
This syllabus may change according to the needs of this class. Any changes will be announced in class and via e-mail to all students. Students are responsible for noticing such changes.
The MDC Core Rules of Netiquette sets expectations for communication in this online classroom. Please follow the expectations outlined at https://www.mdc.edu/remote-learning-students/remote-learning-strategies/netiquette/ when communicating electronically.