Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Twentieth-Century Latin American Poetry: Project Info & Resources

This guide contains resources for students of Professor Ileana Porges-West's EAP1586 courses, Fall 2017

Poetry Research Project

Topic:

You are to write about the connections you can make between the life, the works, and the time period in which your approved poet lived. You must read biographical material about the poet and some of what the poet has written (at least two poems).

  • Try to imagine what life was like for your poet.
  • Which writers influenced your poet?
  • What events would have had greatest impact?
  • What themes dominate your poet’s poems?

In order to have your poet approved*, you must locate at least three reputable biographical resources: an actual book about your person or a significant biographical entry in one of the school databases. Wikipedia is not an acceptable resource.

*Note: You must have your poet and the specific resources you are reading about your poet approved in advance. You will submit your poet, poem to be discussed, 4 sources (in MLA format), and an outline to Librarian’s Corner.

M/W class: Due December 4, 2017

T/TR class: Due December 5, 2017


General Guidelines:

The quality of your reference sources is much more important than the quantity. Because you are collecting information that other people have already published, you have to give credit to these people for the information you use that is theirs. You do this by including a Works Cited page in your presentation. If you do not, you will be committing plagiarism.

Minimum Required Resources:

You must include the following in your Works Cited:

  • one biographical resource
  • one critical resources (print or online database)
  • two poems

Citing Sources:

Follow MLA style when citing your resources in your Works Cited slide.

Suggested Research Links:

  • You can use this Library Guide on Twentieth-Century Latin American Poetry
  • MDC databases and other library resources

Final Presentation:

An informative PowerPoint presentation on your selected poet and one of their poems. Record your narration of the PPT, including your reading of the poem and submit the video through Blackboard. Maximum 3 minutes long.

Parts of the PPT Presentation:

  • Cover Slide - Illustrated poem or quote. Select a meaningful quote from the works of your approved poet and illustrate that quote so that it will fit on the second slide of your PPT. You may use original artwork, computer graphics, calligraphy, graphic fonts -- whatever will help you make the most of the words themselves.
  • Title Page Slide - Poet's name, your name, class: EAP1586, professor: Prof. Porges, and date.
  • Biography - Information you have learned about your poet's life, including the time and place they lived.
  • Poem Slide - Include the poem (in English) you analyzed.
  • Poem Analysis - What does the poem mean and your personal reaction to the poem. Make sure that you label any poetry terms discussed in class (poetry terminology such as metaphor, simile, personification, etc.). See librarian and/or video on right for more information on analyzing poetry.
  • Conclusion Slide - Wrap up of your project, include mention of second poem selected (what are the similarities or differences between the two?).
  • Works Cited Slide: Cite all your sources (minimum 4) in an alphabetized list in MLA format.

*Note: 10 points are earned by getting librarian and tutor to review your work and incorporate their feedback/suggestions.

M/W class: Due December 11, 2017

T/TR class: Due December 12, 2017

Country Research Project

Minimum Requirements:

Each student will show a 3 minute video of themselves narrating their PPT. Each slide is to be in bullet point format. When you narrate you may add other information. Each group will have a maximum of 3 students to divide the requirements listed below.

Feel free to include other information if necessary.

Your PPT should have an Introduction which includes:

  • The name of the country
  • The capital of the country
  • The major language(s) spoken
  • The location (what continent it's on)

Your PPT should have at least one slide discussing the History of your country (focused on the time period in which your selected poet lived) which includes:

  • The Date the country came into existence
  • Famous people/rulers/kings/presidents/etc. from the country's history
  • Major events in the country's history
  • How the country became a country

Your PPT should have at least one paragraph discussing the Geography of your country.  It should include:

  • Major landforms
  • Major landmarks
  • Major bodies of water
  • Major cities

Your PPT should have at least one slide discussing the Culture of your country.  It should include:

  • Clothing
  • Music
  • Holidays
  • Religions
  • Food
  • Government

Your PPT should have at least one slide discussing the Economy of your country.  It should include:

  • Natural Resources
  • Manufacturing areas
  • Land use (i.e. farming areas)
  • Major occupations (jobs)
  • The currency (type of money)

Your PPT should have at least one slide discussing the Climate of your country.  It should include:

  • General weather conditions
  • Average yearly rainfall
  • Average yearly temperature
  • What effects the climate has on the country

Your PPT should have at least one slide discussing any Interesting Facts about your country.  It could include:

  • Population
  • Modes of transportation
  • Story behind the flag
  • Strange laws
  • Travel tips
  • Native animals

Your PPT should have a CONCLUSION slide which includes:

  • A nice wrap-up of your research.

Each student’s PPT needs to include a Works Cited slide which includes: 3 academic sources.

Each group must select 1 video from an academic database.

You need to get your video and PPT checked by a tutor and a librarian before the due date to be able to make the necessary changes.

M/W class: Due November 13, 2017

T/TR class: Due November 14, 2017

Why Should You Outline?

Purdue Owl Outlines

Why create an outline? There are many reasons; but in general, it may be helpful to create an outline when you want to show the hierarchical relationship or logical ordering of information. For research papers, an outline may help you keep track of large amounts of information. For creative writing, an outline may help organize the various plot threads and help keep track of character traits. Many people find that organizing an oral report or presentation in outline form helps them speak more effectively in front of a crowd.

(from Purdue OWL, How to Outline)

Additional Resources


Analyzing Poetry

Brief description of video:

How to analyze a poem – in six steps.

Analyzing a poem can be tricky. Before you analyze a poem in detail, it is important to read through the poem several times. Try to read the poem aloud, because poems can often have a range of sound devices that can alter the poem's meaning. Once you've read through the poem, you can start analyzing the poem's content. Here are six steps to help you to analyze a poem:

  1. Subject. What is the poem about and why?
  2. Theme. What are the recurring ideas and topics?
  3. Tone. How would you describe the mood of the language?
  4. Imagery. What literary devices are used and what do they signify?
  5. Form. Why the poet has chosen this structure?
  6. Feeling. What are the different emotions being conveyed? How do you analyze a poem? The prompts are a supportive tool, intended to encourage further analysis and interpretation.

(from Poetry Essay)

Additional Resources


Using PowerPoint