LibGuides: Open Educational Resources at MDC: Overview: Business & Economics

Open Business Textbooks

Fundamentals of Business
Textbook designed for an introductory level business course. This work is a project of the Pamplin College of Business, Virginia Tech.
Introduction to Business
Provides a comprehensive discussion of business concepts that introduces the student to the fundamentals that is part of Lumen Learning courseware.
Business Fundamentals - Global Text Project
Designed to introduce students to the essential concepts of business and other organizations. Focus is on small, entrepreneurial start-ups, and expanding the discussion in each chapter to include issues that are faced in larger organizations when it is appropriate to do so.
Business Law and the Legal Environment
Provides context and essential concepts across the entire range of legal issues with which managers and business executives must grapple. The text provides the vocabulary and legal acumen necessary for business people to talk in an educated way to their customers, employees, suppliers, government officials—and to their own lawyers.
Small Business Management in the 21st Century
Designed with a “less can be more” approach, and treats small business management as a practical human activity rather than as an abstract theoretical concept.
International Business
Provides exploration into building, leading, and thriving in global organizations in an increasingly flat world.
Law for Entrepreneurs
Covers the broad spectrum of legal issues that entrepreneurs must understand when starting and running a business.
Exploring Business
Exploring Business is adapted from a work produced and distributed under a Creative Commons license (CC BY-NC-SA) in 2010 by a publisher who has requested that they and the original author not receive attribution. This adapted edition is produced by the University of Minnesota Libraries Publishing through the eLearning Support Initiative.

Open Accounting Textbooks

Financial Accounting - Lumen Learning
Typically used for Principles of Accounting course. Introduces accounting principles with respect to financial reporting. Demonstrates how decision makers use accounting information for reporting purposes. Focuses on the preparation of accounting information and its use in the operation of organizations, as well as methods of analysis and interpretation of accounting information.
Managerial Accounting
Managerial Accounting was written around three major themes: Ready, Reinforcement and Relevance. This book is aimed squarely at the new learning styles evident with today’s students and addresses accounting industry changes as well.
Accounting Principles: A Business Perspective
Uses annual reports of real companies to illustrate many of the accounting concepts in use in business today.
Introduction to Financial Accounting
Good resource

Supplemental Material

Economic Policy Simulator

Beginning with the details of an unnamed country, this interactive exercise lets students combine various economic policies to analyse their future impact (in the following two years) on the main macroeconomic indicators.

Open Economics Textbooks

Principles of Economics - OpenStax
Covers the scope and sequence for a two-semester principles of economics course. Includes many current examples such as: the great recession, controversy among economists over the Affordable Care Act, recent government shutdown, and the appointment of the United States' first female Federal Reserve Chair.

Principles of Microeconomics - OpenStax
Covers the scope and sequence for a one-semester economics course. Includes many current examples such as: the Keystone Pipeline, Occupy Wall Street, and debates over the minimum wage.

Principles of Macroeconomics - OpenStax
Covers the scope and sequence for a one-semester economics course. Includes many current examples such as: the housing bubble and housing crisis, Zimbabwe’s hyperinflation, global unemployment, and the appointment of the United States’ first female Federal Reserve chair.

Principles of Economics - Open Textbook Library
The authors, Rittenberg and Tregarthen help students understand how real individuals actually work with economics. The text illustrates the practicality and relevance of economics with a variety of new illustrations and insights.

Microeconomics: Theory Through Applications
Centers around student needs and expectations through two premises: 1) Students are motivated to study economics if they see that it relates to their own lives. 2) Students learn best from an inductive approach, in which they are first confronted with a problem then led through the process of solving that problem

Principles of Macroeconomics
Economic concepts are presented through an approachable style and methodology. Takes a three-pronged approach to every chapter: “Heads Up” section to ward off confusion, a real-world application for that concept, and a “You Try It” section to make sure students are staying on top of the concept.

Open Marketing & Management Textbooks

Principles of Management
Teaches management principles to tomorrow’s business leaders by weaving three threads through every chapter: strategy, entrepreneurship and active leadership.
Principles of Marketing
Teaches the experience and process of real-life marketing, not just the vocabulary.
Organizational Behavior
This book bridges the gap between theory and practice with a distinct "experiential" approach. This book gives students the vocabulary, framework, and critical thinking skills necessary to diagnose situations, ask tough questions, evaluate the answers received, and to act in an effective and ethical manner regardless of situational characteristics.
Focusing on Organizational Change
Offers an alternative to the traditional approach by focusing on building the change capacity of the entire organization in anticipation of future pressures to change. Based on systematic research of more than 5,000 respondents working within more than 200 organization or organizational units conducted during the previous decade, this book offers a clear and proven method for diagnosing your organizational change capacity.
Human Resource Management
Teaches HRM strategies and theories that any manager—not just those in HR—needs to know about recruiting, selecting, training, and compensating people. This text also provides practical applications of theory relevant to today’s workplace.
Human Relations
Addresses all of the critical topics to obtain career success as they relate to professional relationships. From communication challenges to focusing on one’s own emotional intelligence, the examples throughout Human Relations will help students understand the importance of the human side in their career.