LibGuides: Open Educational Resources at MDC: Overview: Languages

Spanish

Heritage Spanish
Community website where instructors can find and share resources for Heritage Spanish.
Spanish Grammar in Context
A website for learning and practicing real-world Spanish grammar
Actividades de práctica con aprendices del español
An online collection of videos of second language and heritage language learners of Spanish during oral interviews and provides supplemental activities to help viewers investigate learners’ language and proficiency levels.
Español Abierto
A repository for open Spanish resources
Spanish Proficiency Exercises
A compilation of brief video clips in which native speakers of Spanish from various locations throughout Latin America and Spain demonstrate various language tasks.

German

Deutsch im Blick
A multimedia 1st-year German language program based on videos of native speakers and the UT Summer Program in Würzburg,. Includes recorded vocabulary, phonetics lessons, and more.
German Frame-semantic Online Lexicon (G-FOL)
A prototype of a new kind of pedagogical dictionary. The goal is to help students learn how words are used in modern-day German and in real life contexts.
Grimm Grammar
An online German grammar reference, featuring zany post-modern Grimm’s fairy tale characters, authoritative grammar explanations, self-correcting exercises, online audio and cartoon images.

More Resources for Language teachers

Introduction to OER for Language teachers
Voices for Openness in Language Learning
Merlot World Languages Community Portal
The Mixxer

This social networking site allows users to find partners for language exchanges via Skype.
Center for Open Educational Resources & Language Learning (COERLL)

French

Français interactif
Award-winning first year French curriculum used by learners all over the world. Explores French language and culture by following the lives of real students who have participated in the UT Summer Program in Lyon.
Liberté
Liberté is a first-year college French textbook with a true communicative approach.
Le Littéraire dans le quotidien
Textbook for a transdisiplinary approach to reading/writing at the first and second year levels of college French.
Chansons françaises
The integrated music component of Français interactif. Chansons features a French or Francophone song, related to each chapter's cultural or pedagogical focus, presented via audio or video.
Enhancing French Skills
Enhancing French skills is a website for intermediate learners of French. It includes authentic language videos from French websites, as well as interviews of French speakers on cultural topics.
Les Conversations Mises à Jour
Collection of authentic conversations in French that targets mostly intermediate and advanced learners of French.
Tex's French Grammar
An online pedagogical reference grammar of the French language that combines authoritative grammar explanations, self-correcting exercises and online audio with surreal dialogues and cartoon images.

Japanese

JOSHU, a site for learning the Japanese language
JOSHU (Japanese Online Self-Help Utility) means "assistant", or "tutor" in Japanese, which is what this website attempts to be to anyone interested in learning the Japanese language. JOSHU is supported by the Japanese Language Program, UT-Austin.
Beginning Japanese for Professionals: Book 1
Designed for beginning learners who want to learn basic Japanese for the purpose of living and working in Japan. Unlike textbooks written primarily for students, whose content largely centers on student life, this book focuses more on social and professional life beyond school.
Preadvanced Japanese
Preadvanced Japanese is designed for students who have intermediate competency in Japanese, roughly at Level 2 on the ILR (The Interagency Language Roundtable) proficiency scale, and are working on reaching Level 3.

Portuguese

Spanish Language Resources

Audiria
Free Spanish podcasts arranged by level of proficiency, with exercises, textbook, personal stats, and other learning resources.
BBC Languages - Spanish
Lessons, phrases, vocabulary, tests, and links to news sources in 40 languages.
LangMedia
A collection of target language videos done by international students from the Five Colleges of Massachusetts in their home countries. Includes: Arabic, French, German, Spanish, Japanese, Greek, Italian, and Portuguese.
LibriVox - Spanish
LibriVox contains recordings of literary classics, autobiographies, plays, and poetry among many other genres all recorded in a variety of languages. English, French, Germain and Italian are just a few of all languages represented on LibriVox.
Lingu@net World Wide
Comprehensive resource for a wide range of languages. Search by language, proficiency level, and source language. Each language has a large number of resources.
Memrise - Spanish
Uses images and audio to help memorize vocabulary. Interactive site that saves individual progress.
Mia Cositas
Resources for Spanish, French, and Chinese. Includes: Videos, thematic curriculum units complete lesson plans, student worksheets and resources, downloadable materials collections with activities, manipulatives and mini-posters over 40 virtual illustrated picturebooks organized thematically, as well as a list of vetted links.
Ojala que llueva cafe
Subjunctive exercises with songs.
Spanish Language and Culture
Has study modules, interactive activities, links to other resources, video with audio.
World Language Resources
List of resources (for mostly French, Spanish and German) compiled as part of a federally funded grant to identify open educational resources for World Language teachers in Maine.
World Languages Community Portal
An educational resource for teaching and learning languages. Free materials for for many different languages.