Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Open Biology Textbooks
Biology - Openstax
Covers the scope and sequence requirements of a typical two-semester biology course for science majors. The text provides comprehensive coverage of foundational research and core biology concepts through an evolutionary lens.
Concepts of Biology
Designed for the typical introductory biology course for non-majors, covering standard scope and sequence requirements.
Anatomy and Physiology
A dynamic textbook for the two-semester human anatomy and physiology course for life science and allied health majors. The book is organized by body system and covers standard scope and sequence requirements.
Microbiology - OpenStax
Microbiology covers the scope and sequence requirements for a single-semester microbiology course for non-majors. The book presents the core concepts of microbiology with a focus on applications for careers in allied health.
Biofundamentals - University of Colorado
A one- (evolving into two) semester introductory course on the evolutionary, molecular, genetic, genomic & systems foundations of modern biology
Cell and Molecular Biology
Focuses on experimental support for what we know about cell and molecular biology. Written to serve as the introductory biology course for biology majors with high school chemistry and biology prerequisites as well as for “gateway” cell and molecular biology courses for students with a college-level general biology and general chemistry course background.
The Boundless Microbiology textbook is a college-level, introductory textbook that covers the subject of Microbiology, one of the building blocks of the life sciences. Boundless works with subject matter experts to select the best open educational resources available on the web, review the content for quality, and create introductory, college-level textbooks designed to meet the study needs of university students.
Introductory textbooks on biology from Boundless. The organization of content aims to build a strong foundation in Biology. The Boundless Biology Textbook is fully customizable.
Biology I (Lumen Learning)
An introduction to biology intended for non-majors. Focus areas include chemical foundations, cell
Open Chemistry Textbooks
The Basics of General, Organic, and Biological Chemistry
Written by three Chemistry professors for the one-semester General, Organic and Biological Chemistry course. The authors designed this textbook from the ground up to meet the needs of a one-semester course.
Chemistry - OpenStax
Chemistry is designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of the two-semester general chemistry course. Students earn the core concepts of chemistry and understand how those concepts apply to their lives and the world around them.
Chemistry: Atoms First - OpenStax
This title is an adaptation of the OpenStax Chemistry text and covers scope and sequence requirements of the two-semester general chemistry course. Introduces atomic and molecular structure much earlier than the traditional approach, delaying the introduction of more abstract material so students have time to acclimate to the study of chemistry.
General Chemistry - Wikibook
An introduction to the basic concepts of chemistry, including atomic structure and bonding, chemical reactions, and solutions. Other topics covered include gases, thermodynamics, kinetics and equilibrium, thermodynamics, redox, and chemistry of the elements.
General Chemistry: Principles, Patterns, and Applications
Represents a step in the evolution of the general chemistry text that reflects the increasing overlap between chemistry and other disciplines. Discusses exciting and relevant aspects of biological, environmental, and materials science usually relegated to the last few chapters, and provides a format that allows the instructor to tailor the emphasis to the needs of the class.
Introductory Chemistry - Cleveland State University
Written by David W. Ball of Cleveland State University, this book is intended for a one-semester introductory or preparatory chemistry course.
Organic Chemistry - Michigan State University
Written by William Reusch, this virtual textbook allows for visualization of 3D-molecular models while teaching principles of Organic Chemistry.
Organic Chemistry - Wikibook
The world’s first and only open content organic
chemistry textbook written by a team of experts and chemistry professors from Cleveland State University and other institutions.
Organic Chemistry with a Biological Emphasis Volume I & II
A textbook for a two-semester, sophomore-level course in Organic Chemistry in which biological chemistry takes center stage. For the most part, the text covers the core concepts of organic structure, structure determination, and reactivity in the standard order. What is different is the context: biological chemistry is fully integrated into the explanation of central principles, and as much as possible the in-chapter and end-of-chapter problems are taken from the biochemical literature.
Open Astronomy Textbooks
An introduction to the nature of the universe. Use it to research or review our solar system, stars, galaxies, and the history of the universe. Each chapter has a set of corresponding homework questions.
Astronomy - OpenStax (Coming Soon)
An introductory book on astronomy. Still in draft form and final book version coming soon.
Supplemental materials for Biology
LibreTexts Biology - UC Davis
A multi-institutional collaborative venture to develop the next generation of open-access texts to improve STEM education at all levels of higher learning.
Contains hundreds of multimedia resources, including apps, animations, videos, interactive, and virtual labs, to bring the excitement of scientific discovery into your classroom.
A media file repository making available public domain and freely-licensed educational media content (images, sound and video clips) to everyone, in their own language. Use the search to find content related to your interest.
Biology - Khan Academy
Video lectures covering topics seen in a first year college biology course including cells and cell division, cellular respiration, photosynthesis and immunology to name a few.
OER Commons - Biology
Browse through resources on biology and other biology-related concepts.
Supplemental materials for Chemistry
Supplemental Materials for Physics
Collection of resources and services that cater to both Physics instructors and learners. It is a platform through which learners and instructors are given the ability to publish and search for high quality resources created for their specific needs.
PhET - University of Colorado
Helps students visually comprehend concepts, PhET simulations animate what is invisible to the eye through the use of graphics and intuitive controls such as click-and-drag manipulation, sliders and radio buttons.
Collection of Physics tutorials that cover all topics typically covered in college level Physics I and Physics II courses. Newton's laws, vectors, momentum, work and energy, rotational motion, optics, relativity, electricity and magnetism are discussed.
Symmetry - Dimensions of Particle Physics
Image bank containing many diagrams and illustrations that might be useful when teaching particle physics as well as many images related to the field and study of particle physics.
Open Physics Textbooks
College Physics - OpenStax
Meets standard scope and sequence requirements for a two-semester introductory algebra-based physics course. The text is grounded in real-world examples to help students grasp fundamental physics concepts.
A calculus-based physics textbook meant for the type of freshman survey course taken by engineering and physical science majors, or for AP Physics C. It uses a nontraditional order of topics, with energy coming before force.
An entertaining and free e-book on physics – the science of motion. Comes in 6 volumes: 1) Fall, Flow and Heat; 2) relativity and Cosmology; 3) Light, Charges, and Brains; 4) the Quantum of Change; 5) Pleasure, Technology,and Stars; 6) The Strand Model-A Speculation on Unific
Open Geology Textbooks
A comprehensive introductory text on the physical aspects of geology, including rocks and minerals, plate tectonics, earthquakes, volcanoes, glaciation, groundwater, streams, coasts, mass wasting, climate change, planetary geology and much more.
An online course in geology taught using a mastery approach.
This book explains how it is even possible to reconstruct the history of the earth from data that is available in the present. Emphasis of the book is methodological and explains how it is known rather than what is known.
Laboratory Manual for Introductory Geology
This textbook is a comprehensive lab manual for the core curriculum Introductory Geosciences classes with both informational content and laboratory exercises. Topics include basic laws and theories in Geology, the Earth's interior and plate tectonics, water and climate change, igneous rocks and volcanoes, and earthquakes.
Supplementary Materials for Geology & Astronomy
Collection of digital resources for college-level introductory astronomy faculty and students.
Lots of resources such as pictures, images, videos and other materials for the study and teaching of astronomy and other sciences.
Principal hub of the UC Davis LibreTexts project, which is a multi-institutional collaborative venture to develop the next generation of open-access texts to improve STEM education (Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics) at all levels of higher learning.
USGS Education - United States Geological Survey
Provides impartial information on the health of our ecosystems and environment. USGS monitors, analyzes, and provides scientific understanding about natural resource conditions, issues, and problems.
The National Map - United States Geological Survey
The geographic information available from The National Map includes orthoimagery (aerial photographs), elevation, geographic names, hydrography, boundaries, transportation, structures, and land cover.