Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Anti-Racism Teach-In: Resources

Anti-Racism is the policy or practice of opposing racism and promoting racial tolerance. This guide is designed to provide MDC resources as well as links to organizations dedicated to anti-racism efforts.

Additional Community Resources

Books from Catalog (selected e-books)

Selected Databases

Academic OneFile - Provides thousands of peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources. Includes coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature, and other subjects.

Academic Search Complete - A valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865.

America's News (NewsBank) - With unmatched U.S. news content from local, regional, and national sources, this resource is the largest of its kind. Its diverse source types include printed and online newspapers, blogs, journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts, and videos. Explore a specific issue or event through the detailed coverage provided by local reporting or compare a wide variety of viewpoints from across the country on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities, and people. Includes Miami Herald, El Nuevo Herald, and the Sun-Sentinel.

Issues & Controversies- Offers a wealth of current topics research information, including pro/con discussions of hot issues, newspaper editorials, numerical snapshots of key topics, photos and graphics, and selected historical source documents.

JSTOR - Access core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Over 700 titles are available.

Opposing Viewpointsonline experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, the new solution features continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.

Social Sciences Full-Text -Full-featured database covering such topics as technology, science, art, humanities, business, law, and social sciences. Many articles in full-text.

YouTube Videos (Selected)

Videos from Wolfson Archives

Video Resources

Faculty Specific Resources

E-Books on Overdrive

E-Books from EBSCO

Films Available on Streaming Services

13th (Ava DuVernay)

Netflix

Time: The Kalief Browder Story

Netflix

When They See Us

Netflix

Black Power Mixtape: 1967 - 1975

Available to rent on YouTube

I Am Not Your Negro

Netflix, Amazon