Research - Resources for Excellence Across the Curriculum - Spring 2021 - LibGuides at Miami Dade College Learning Resources

North Campus Library

Library

Locations and Hours

Librarians are available to assist with research needs and provide guidance on the use of resources.

Learning Resources Labs and Courtyards house state-of-the-art technology and software, as well as knowledgeable tutors that can provide face-to-face instruction in a variety of courses such as math, writing, reading, business, natural science, health sciences, speech and test preparation, and more.

North Campus Librarians

Angel Hernandez	aherna19@mdc.edu
Christine Schwendel	cschwend@mdc.edu
Erin Fennel	lfennell@mdc.edu
Maria Casado	mcasado@mdc.edu
Merlene Nembhard	mnembhar@mdc.edu

Hours of Operation

Monday - Thursday: 7:30 am to 9:00 pm

Fridays: 7:30 am to 5:00 pm

Saturdays: 8:00 am to 1:00 pm

Contact Information

(305) 237-1142

Room 2101

Databases & Articles

Frequently Used Databases

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.

Funded by: Statewide Allocation
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) (Gale)
(Gale) - online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, the new solution features continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files, and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.

Funded by: Statewide Allocation
APA PsycArticles (EBSCO)
(EBSCO) - Provides full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It contains more than 100,000 articles from 59 journals - 48 published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and 11 from allied organizations. It includes all journal articles, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to present.

Funded by: Statewide Allocation
Academic OneFile (Gale)
Upgrade to General OneFile provides peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources. Includes coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and, other subjects.

Funded by: State Library of Florida
OmniFile Full Text Mega Edition (EBSCO)
(H.W. Wilson) - Full text periodicals, along with article abstracts and indexing, covering business, education, science, social sciences, art, humanities, and popular magazines.

Funded by: College (FLVC Group License)
CINAHL Complete (EBSCO)
The world's most comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. CINAHL®Complete is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing & allied health literature.

Funded by: Statewide Allocation
JSTOR
(JSTOR) - Access back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Over 700 titles available.

Funded by: Statewide Allocation
Social Sciences Full Text (EBSCO)
(H.W. Wilson) - Full-featured database covering such topics as technology, science, art, humanities, business, law, and social sciences. Many articles in full-text.

Funded by: College (FLVC Group License)
Health Source: Consumer Edition (EBSCO)
(EBSCO) - Provides information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine, and general health. Health Source: Consumer Edition features searchable full text for nearly 160 journals including Consumer Reports on Health and Men’s Health, as well as abstracts and indexing for nearly 180 general health, nutrition, and professional health care publications.

Funded by: Statewide Allocation

Complete A-Z List of Databases

To log in:

Borrower ID = MDC student ID number
PIN = last 4 digits of MDC student ID number.

Effective January 1st 2021, all users will be able to log in to library resources exclusively with their MDC username and password instead of their ID number and the last 4 digits of their ID. Learn more about the transition to OpenAthens here.

Video Databases

Swank

Swank Motion Pictures, Inc.® founded in 1937, is the major non-theatrical movie distributor, online CE/CME education distributor and public performance licensing agent in venues where feature movies are shown publicly.

Kanopy

The films in the Media Education Foundation (MEF) Collection encourage critical thinking about the social, political, and cultural impact of American mass media. With a special focus on representations of gender and race, and the affect these representations have on identity and culture, MEF films are especially well-suited for use in Women's Studies, Sociology, Race Studies,Communication, Anthropology, Education, and Psychology courses.

Films on Demand

Streaming video from large and small production companies covering a wide range of subjects to enhance college courses. These videos include public performance rights that allow them to be used in the educational setting.

Research Strategies

What Are Databases? [VIDEO]
Okay, so you're thinking, "Can't I just Google the information I need?" Of course you can, but a database is a different kind of research tool that can help you get access to reliable sources that may not be freely available on the web.
This brief video explains the advantages of library databases:
The video below shows you how to gain access to MDC's library databases:

Not sure which databases to try? The Recommended Databases page will help you select the best resources for your research paper topics.

Tutorial:

Picking Your Topic IS Research [VIDEO]
North Carolina State University

Diving into Research - Kanopy Database

To log in:

Borrower ID = MDC student ID number
PIN = last 4 digits of MDC student ID number.

Books & eBooks

Search the Library Catalog - Find books, articles, videos and more

To log in:

Use your MDC Username and MDC Password to login.
Click here to reset your password if you forgot it.

Academic eBooks

To log in:

Use your MDC Username and MDC Password to login.
Click here to reset your password if you forgot it.

Popular fiction and non-fiction ebooks

To log in:

Use your MDC Username and MDC Password to login.
Click here to reset your password if you forgot it.

APA How to Write an Abstract/Proposal

Abstract and Keywords Guide

APA - Transitioning from 6th to 7th Edition

MLA (Modern Language Association)

MLA Style Word Template
Save time by using this MLA pre-formatted Microsoft Word document.
MLA Style PDF Sample Paper
A sample PDF of how an MLA style paper should look like with notations.

MLA LibGuide
- Guide with links to books and online resources you can use for MLA citations.
Purdue University - OWL MLA Style Guide
- A comprehensive guide with a complete sample APA paper.

Resources for Excellence Across the Curriculum - Spring 2021: Research

North Campus Library

Library

Locations and Hours

Labs and Tutoring

North Campus Librarians

Hours of Operation

Contact Information

Databases & Articles

Frequently Used Databases

Video Databases

Research Strategies

Tutorial:

Suggested Topics:

Diving into Research - Kanopy Database

Books & eBooks

APA How to Write an Abstract/Proposal

APA - Transitioning from 6th to 7th Edition

MLA (Modern Language Association)