Children's Literature: Digitized Collections

The digital collection of the University of Florida's George A. Smathers Libraries includes books, periodicals, manuscripts, artwork, and ephemera published in the U.S. and Great Britain from mid-1600s to present day.

Public domain children's book available online through Project Gutenberg.

This digital collection of children’s literature from USF’s Special Collections features boys and girls series books from before 1923. This is a growing collection, and more titles will be added over time.

The Cotsen Children's Library is a major research collection of rare illustrated children's books, manuscripts, ephemera, writing books, games, maps, original artwork, prints, and educational toys from the 15th century to the present day in over forty languages.

The de Grummond Children's Books Digital Collection contains a selection of books from the holdings of the de Grummond Children's Literature Collection in McCain Library & Archives. The majority of works featured in this collection date between 1731 - 1920.

The ICDL Foundation promotes tolerance and respect for diverse cultures by providing access to the best of children's literature from around the world.

This special collection presents children’s books selected from the General and Rare Book Collections at the Library of Congress. The collection includes classic works that are still read by children today, and lesser-known treasures drawn from the Library’s extensive collection of historically significant children’s books. The books in this collection were published in the United States and England before 1924, are no longer under copyright, and free to read, share, and reuse however you’d like.

Literature for Children is a collection of the treasures of children's literature published largely in the United States and Great Britain from before 1850 to beyond 1950. At the core of this Collection are books from the Baldwin Library of Historical Children's Literature, housed in the Department of Special Collections and Area Studies at the University of Florida. Books from the Departments of Special Collections at the Florida Atlantic University, Florida State University, and the University of South Florida.