AMH 2010: History of the U.S. to 1877
In this course, students will examine United States history from before European contact to 1877. Topics will include but are not limited to indigenous peoples, the European background, the colonial period, the American Revolution, the Articles of Confederation, the Constitution, issues within the new republic, sectionalism, manifest destiny, slavery, the American Civil War, and Reconstruction. Student learning outcomes: Students will describe the factual details of the substantive historical episodes under study; students will identify and analyze foundational developments that shaped American history from before European contact to 1877 using critical thinking skills; students will demonstrate an understanding of the primary ideas; values, and perceptions that have shaped United States history; and students will demonstrate competency in civic literacy.
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
Funded by: Statewide Allocation
Upgrade to General OneFile provides peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources. Includes coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and, other subjects.
Funded by: State Library of Florida
(EBSCO) - America: History and Life with Full Text is the definitive database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With selective indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history.
Funded by: College (FLVC Group License)
