LibGuides: Immaculata La Salle HS Dual Enrollment Resources : CHM1045

Course Description

CHM 1045: General Chemistry and Qualitative Analysis

This course is designed for students pursuing careers in the sciences or who need a more rigorous presentation of chemical concepts than is offered in an introductory course. Students will engage in problem solving and critical thinking while applying chemical concepts. Topics will include the principles of chemistry including atomic theory, electronic and molecular structure, measurement, stoichiometry, bonding, periodicity, thermochemistry, nomenclature, solutions, and the properties of gases. Student learning outcomes: students will apply the law of conservation of matter and energy; students will implement rules of significant numbers to all measurements; students will explain the fundamental properties of matter including but not limited to atomic and electronic structure, and periodicity; students will apply IUPAC rules of nomenclature; students will predict molecular geometry and properties from bonding theories; and students will predict and explain the products of chemical reactions (e.g., acid-base, oxidation-reduction, precipitation, dissociation). Prerequisite: CHM1025 or a passing score on the CART exam, MAC1105. Co-requisite: CHM1045L.

Books on Chemistry

Energy, Matter, and Change by William B. Tucker
ISBN: 9781032782959

Publication Date: 2024-12-27

To help prepare students to pursue chemistry further, all information presented is in accord with the International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry's style and technical guidelines and supported through citations to the primary literature.
Pocket Genius: Elements by DK
ISBN: 9781465490995

Publication Date: 2020-01-14

Find out about all 118 elements, the building blocks of matter that make up our entire universe, in this pocket-sized encyclopedia. Discover all the major elements of the periodic table, arranged in chapters according to their group, including alkaline earth metals, lanthanides, and noble gases. Every important element - from hydrogen via carbon, oxygen, and gold to oganesson (that's element number 118) - is presented here. Every entry includes a photo of the element in its raw state or in use, as well as its date of discovery and atomic information as found on the periodic table. Plus here are stunning full-page photos showing elements as you have never seen them before - perhaps inside machinery that you can't normally delve into; or in stunning macro photography that reveals microscopic details invisible to the human eye. The Pocket Eyewitness series is perfect for all children, from reluctant readers who can easily digest the key points through to budding Marie Curies and Louis Pasteurs who want to know more about the most essential particles on the planet.
The Periodic Table by Tom Jackson
ISBN: 9781781319307

Publication Date: 2020-02-04

Which is the densest element? Which has the largest atoms? And why are some elements radioactive? From the little-known uses of gold in medicine to the development of the hydrogen bomb, this is a fresh new look at the Periodic Table.
Chemistry and Chemical Reactivity by John Kotz; Paul Treichel; John Townsend; David Treichel
ISBN: 9781337399074

Publication Date: 2018-01-01

Succeed in chemistry with the clear explanations, problem-solving strategies, and dynamic study tools of CHEMISTRY & CHEMICAL REACTIVITY. Thorough instruction helps you develop a deeper understanding of general chemistry concepts through an emphasis on the visual nature of chemistry and the close interrelationship of the macroscopic, symbolic, and particulate levels of chemistry. The art program illustrates each of these levels in engaging detail.. Interactive study aids in OWLv2, such as Interactive Examples and Adaptive Learning Activities, help you master concepts.

Library Databases

Sage Journals (Sage Publications)
(SAGE Publications) - SAGE is the world’s 5th largest journals publisher. Our portfolio includes more than 645 journals spanning the Humanities, Social Sciences, Science, Technology, and Medicine, and more than 280 are published on behalf of 225 learned societies and institutions.

Funded by: Statewide Allocation
Springer eJournal Collection
(Springer) - SpringerLink provides full-text access in a variety of topics, including mathematics, economics, ecology, religion, history, and more. Coverage for most titles begins in the late 1990s. Coverage varies by title. Content is updated daily.

Funded by: Statewide Allocation
Applied Science & Technology Source (EBSCO)
Applied Science & Technology Source combines content from these high-quality databases:
Computers & Applied Sciences Complete
Applied Science & Technology Full Text
Applied Science & Technology Index
Applied Science & Technology Index Retrospective

In addition, it includes unique full-text journals not previously available in any other database. Applied Science & Technology Source focuses on traditional engineering challenges and research, as well as research concerning the business and social implications of new technology.

Funded by: Statewide Allocation
General Science Full Text (EBSCO)
(H.W. Wilson) - Periodical coverage includes 242 popular science magazines as well as professional journals. General Science Full Text also covers The New York Times Science Section (published weekly on Tuesday).

Funded by: College (FLVC Group License)
Science (AAAS.org)
Founded in 1880 on $10,000 of seed money from the American inventor Thomas Edison, Science has grown to become the world's leading outlet for scientific news, commentary, and cutting-edge research, with the largest paid circulation of any peer-reviewed, general-science journal. Through its print and online incarnations, Science reaches an estimated worldwide readership of more than one million. In content, too, the journal is truly international in scope; some 35 to 40 percent of the corresponding authors on its papers are based outside the United States. Its articles consistently rank among world's most cited research.

Funded by: College (FLVC Group License)
JSTOR
(JSTOR) - Access back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Over 700 titles available.

Funded by: Statewide Allocation

Homework Help

Learning Resources tutors and librarians offer support in-person or online. Schedule an appointment with a tutor or librarian.