LibGuides: Resources for Padron Adjuncts: Humanities

Textbook Options

Landmarks in Humanities

ISBN: 9781307576290

Course Competencies

HUM 1020

Sample Assignments

Recommended Databases

Student Success Skills (Sage Publications) This link opens in a new window
Student Success equips students with the practical academic and personal skills needed to thrive both in higher education and in their future career. Topics are delivered through multimedia and interactive content and cover core skills including academic writing, critical thinking, information literacy, intercultural awareness, and study strategies.

Funded by: Statewide Allocation
Humanities Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
(H.W. Wilson) - Over 500 English-language periodicals covering literature and language, history, philosophy, archaeology, classical studies, folklore, gender studies, performing arts, history, religion, and theology. Many articles in full text.

Funded by: College (FLVC Group License)
Humanities Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Designed to meet the needs of students, researchers and educators interested in all aspects of the humanities. The collection includes full text for more than 1,400 journals, with citations to over 3.5 million articles, including book reviews. Coverage in Humanities Source includes worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly, and creative thought.

Funded by: Statewide Allocation
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.

Funded by: Statewide Allocation
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
(JSTOR) - Access back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Over 700 titles available.

Funded by: Statewide Allocation

Useful Links for Professors

General Notes

Sample Syllabi

Library & Tutoring

Learning Resources
How Students Schedule Tutoring

Resources Orders: If you would like to suggest books, DVDs, or other resources for purchase by the library please use the library website or the link provided.
Information Literacy Classes:
- Library Instructions-These customized classes will allow you to pair with a faculty librarian to teach students effective techniques to search for and evaluate information, use information ethically by citing in various styles such as APA and MLA, and much more. Classes are tailored to the needs of your course and assignments. Librarians also have a variety of tools available for assessment. Schedule a class by calling 305-237-6058 or at the library website.
- Credit courses – LIS 1001: Introduction to Library Research and LIS 2004: Introduction to Internet Research. Faculty librarians can form learning communities with your courses so that students see the immediate application of Information Literacy skills in their academic work.
- Reserve Collection - Materials in any format can be set aside or “reserved” for your class only. Contact our librarians at 305-237-6088 or 305-237-6736.
- Reference Questions: Please ask our librarians at 305-237-6088 or 305-237-6736 or online at the Ask-A-Librarian page via the library’s website.