Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search Library Catalog
Search the library catalog: LINCCWeb.
The following recommended books are available here at the North Campus Library. Read the annotation for each book to find out what information you will find in it. Books are listed alphabetically:
The Columbia Gazetteer of the World by
Call Number: REF G103.5 .C645 2008
Publication Date: 2008-06-23
An encyclopedia of geographical places and features
Countries and Their Cultures by
Call Number: REF GN307 .C68 2001
Publication Date: 2001-05-23
A team of anthropologists and social scientists have taken a close look at more than 200 countries to document the myriad ways in which culture -- every bit as much as geographic borders -- defines and separates the nations of the world.
Also available as an eBook through the catalog.
Encyclopedia Americana by
Call Number: AE5 .E333 2006
Publication Date: 2006-05-01
One of the largest general encyclopedias. Includes coverage of American and Canadian geography and history
Encyclopedia of Associations
Call Number: REF HS17 .G334 2008
A comprehensive list of national organizations. Associations keep track of industry data and may have valuable information on an industry that would not be found in standard business sources.
Encyclopedia of the Developing World by
Call Number: REF HC59.7 .E52 2006
Publication Date: 2005-10-27
Provides historical context and information on developing countries and regions, including economic, political, religious, and social factors. The book defines issues, concepts, and themes in the study of the developing world from economics and political science.
Encyclopedia of Government and Politics by
Call Number: REF JA61 .C66 2003
Publication Date: 2003-12-22
Provides a penetrating analysis of government and politics at a global, regional and nation-state level
Catalog Search by Subjects: Political science -- Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of Population by
Call Number: REF HB81 .E538 2003
Publication Date: 2003-05-01
Encyclopedia of the Stateless Nations by
Call Number: REF D860 .M56 2002
Publication Date: 2002-05-30
"An expanded sequel to Minahan's award-winning guide to some 200 groups, Nations Without States: A Historical Dictionary of Contemporary National Movements, this book provides an easy-to-use, and accurate guide to over 300 developed or emerging national groups worldwide."
Encyclopedia of Urban Cultures by
Call Number: REF HT108.5 .E53 2002
Publication Date: 2002-10-01
Encyclopedia of World Geography by
Call Number: REF G63 .E555 2002
Publication Date: 2002-11-20
"The Encyclopedia of World Geography spans every nation of the world, including all of the countries that came into being as a result of the breakup of the Soviet Union, Yugoslavia, and Czechoslovakia. The articles are more detailed than any other encyclopedia and are combined with detailed mapping, facts and figures, and hundreds of photographs"
Call Number: REF G103.5 .G36 2003
Publication Date: 2002-11-05
Provides entries on the physical geography of every country in the world plus other selected locations. Each entry features one or more maps depicting the geography of the location plus detailed text that describes its features, climate and vegetation. Statistics such as "tallest mountain" and "world size ranking," are highlighted in each entry. Includes a comprehensive index.
Nations of the World by
Publication Date: 2007-01-01
A political, economic & business handbook
Political handbook of the world
Call Number: REF JD37 .P6
This book coveres the country's area, pupulation, language, and principal politcal fugures. Featuring about 200 entries on countries and territories throughout the world.
The Statesman's Yearbook 2019 by
Call Number: Ref JA51 .S37 2019
Publication Date: 2018-08-31
A wealth of extra content has been included in this new edition, including political profiles, government histories, extended economic overviews and a global thematic focus section.
United States government manual
Call Number: online
Publication Date: 2012
Search catalog and view this resource online
As the official handbook of the Federal Government, the United States Government Manual provides comprehensive information on the agencies of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches. It also includes information on quasi-official agencies; international organizations in which the United States participates; and boards, commissions, and committees.
Washington information directory by
Call Number: F192.3 .W33
Essential one-stop source for information on U.S. governmental and nongovernmental agencies and organizations.
The World Almanac and Book of Facts 2019 by
Call Number: AY67.N5 W7
Publication Date: 2018-12-04
Longest rivers, 57 largest political jurisdictions and other facts are found in this reference book
The World Book Encyclopedia by
Call Number: REF AE5 .W55 2009
Publication Date: 2008-12-01
"A 22-volume, highly illustrated, A-Z general encyclopedia for all ages, featuring sections on how to use World Book, other research aids, pronunciation key, a student guide to better writing, speaking, and research skills, and comprehensive index"
Student Atlas of World Geography by
Call Number: REF G 128 .A44 2010
Publication Date: 2009-03-13
This excellent resource conveys information in a visual format. Interesting coverage of conflict regions.
Statistics are available in tables at the end of the book, such as World Countries Energy production starting on p. 271
Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations by
Call Number: REF G63 .W67 2007
Publication Date: 2006-11-06
v. 1. United Nations -- v. 2. Africa -- v. 3. Americas -- v. 4. Asia & Oceania -- v. 5. Europe.
Colored maps and flags on endpapers.
Library of Congress Classification
How to Search for Books in the Catalog
- Log onto the Internet.
- Go to the Library webpage https://www.mdc.edu/libraries
- Click on Advanced Library Search to search for books, DVDs, articles, etc.
- In the drop-down menus on the left side, enter your search terms.
- Click on Search (below the drop-down menus).
- Write down the "call number" (e.g. JK 1021 .C565 2008) for the book.
- Look for the book in the library.