Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

How to Search for Books and Articles: Articles from Databases

This LibGuide will help students find books and articles. It also provides information on ALA and MLA citation styles.

How to Find Articles in Databases

  1. Click here for the library web page.
  2. Click on Databases.
  3. Click on Databases by Subject.
  4. In the top box, select "Miami Dade College" from the drop-down menu . Enter your Borrower ID (student ID, one letter and 8 numbers) and PIN (last 4 digits of student ID).
  5. Choose a category of a database. For example, "General," "News and Current Events," "Reference Shelf" and "Social Sciences."
  6. Choose a database.
  7. In the search box, enter your search terms.
  8. Click on Full Text and "Peer Reviewed" (optional).
  9. Press "Enter" or "Search."
  10. Click on any one of your results. Notice the "abstract" (summary) and "full-text article."
  11. Look for the word "Cite or Citation" on the top or side of the article, or scroll down to the bottom to see if the article has a citation.

 

Library Database Exercise

Library Exercise - How to Find Articles in Databases

  1. Click on here for the library web page.
  2. Click on Databases.
  3. Click on Databases by Subject.
  4. Enter your Borrower ID (MDC ID - one letter and 8 numbers).
  5. Enter your PIN (last 4 digits of your MDC ID).
  6. Choose a category. For example, "Biography," "General," "Reference Shelf," "Social Sciences."
  7. Choose a database.
  8. In the search box, enter your search terms.
  9. Click on "Full Text" and "Peer Reviewed."
  10. Press "Enter or "Search."
  11. Click on any one of your results, and look for the "title" of the article.
  12. Notice the "abstract," (summary) and "full text" article.
  13. Look for the word "Cite" or "Citation" on the top or side of the article, or scroll down to the bottom to see if the citation is there.
  14. Email an article to yourself.