Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
All About Vision
A comprehensive site that covers everything from eye diseases to LASIK surgery to contact lenses to eyeglasses to nutrition and vision.
Anatomy and Physiology
A guide to help you locate anatomy and physiology resources available through MDC's Learning Resources Department.
Anatomy, Physiology & Pathology of the Human Eye
Provides images and description of the anatomy, physiology, and pathology of the human eye.
Bascom Palmer Eye Institute
A local ophthalmic care center that provides information on the anatomy of the eye, diseases of the eye, and on LASIK surgery.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Provides up-to-date information on many aspects of health care, including diseases and conditions, vaccines and immunizations, and emergency preparedness and response. It also includes a section with health statistics.
Provides comprehensive information on prescription drugs, over-the-counter medicines and natural products, including a pill identifier and interactions checker.
The Glaucoma Foundation
Provides comprehensive information about glaucoma, including the diagnosis and treatment options.
Glossary of Eye Care Terms
More than 5,000 terms defined.
Gray's Anatomy of the Human Body
Features 1,247 vibrant engravings—many in color—from the classic 1918 publication.
Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA)
Information about understanding health information privacy under the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA).
Healthy People 2020
A statement of national health objectives designed to identify the most significant preventable threats to health and to establish national goals to reduce these threats.
Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations
The United State's predominant standards-setting and accrediting body for health care organizations and programs.
LASIK: U.S. Food and Drug Administration
Describes LASIK surgery in detail, including the risks, what to expect before, during and after surgery, and FDA-approved lasers.
Provides resources for the visually impaired, simulators of major vision - impairing conditions, statistics and information on technology useful in overcoming the limits of visual impairment.
Includes a Medical Encyclopedia, Medical Dictionary, Interactive Tutorials on common procedures and conditions and Doctor and Dentist Directories.
The Merck Manuals
Online text of The Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy and The Merck Manual of Patient Symptoms.
Miami Lighthouse for the Blind
Provides vision rehabilitation and eye health services.
A list of the mobile apps currently downloaded to the library's iPads that are available for check-out.
National Eye Institute
A comprehensive site that includes information on eye diseases and disorders, vision eye care resources, clinical research studies, research funding, jobs, training & careers, statistical information, and educational photos, images and videos.
Occupational Safety and Health Administration
Provides health standards, regulations, and inspections to prevent workplace injuries, illnesses and deaths.
Provides resources and information to achieve its goal of eliminating avoidable blindness by the year 2020.