Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Gun Control: Databases and Articles

This makes a good topic with many sources for a paper or a debate.

Databases

 To access the databases, start at the Miami Dade Libraries Homepage www.mdc.edu/libraries,  Click MDC Libraries, and choose  Articles/Databases, and Databases by Subject.  Log in with your Student number and PIN (last four digits of your student number).  Under Social Sciences you will find the following Databases.

CQ Researcher Plus Archive (CQ Press) Info Full text available

Criminal Justice Periodicals Index (ProQuest) Info Full text available

Issues and Controversies (Facts on File) Info Full text available

Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale) Info Full text available

Social Sciences Full Text (Wilson) Info Full text available

Articles

  • The following are just a few of the many articles found in the database: Opposing Viewpoints.

  •  

  • The Right to Own a Gun Is Guaranteed by the Constitution

    238
    Is Gun Ownership a Right?, https://www.newyorktimes.com 2010

    "The Right to Own a Gun Is Guaranteed by the Constitution" by Antonin Scalia and the Reporter of Decisions. Is Gun…

  • The Right to Own a Gun Is Not Guaranteed by the Constitution

    477
    Is Gun Ownership a Right?, https://www.newyorktimes.com 2010

    "The Right to Own a Gun Is Not Guaranteed by the Constitution" by John Paul Stevens. Is Gun Ownership a Right? Lea…

  • Both Sides of the Gun Debate Would Benefit from Compromise

    241
    Is Gun Ownership a Right?, https://www.newyorktimes.com 2010

    "Both Sides of the Gun Debate Would Benefit from Compromise" by Rachel Graves. Is Gun Ownership a Right? Lea Sakora,…