Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Remember that the Borrower ID is your MDC student number and the PIN is the last 4 digits of your MDC student number.
Evaluating Information Sources
Evaluating the sources you find is a crucial step in the process of library research. The questions you ask about books, periodical articles, web pages, or multimedia sources are similar whether you're looking at a citation to the item or have the item in hand.
Critically Analyzing Information Sources
Lists some of the critical questions you should ask when you consider the appropriateness of a particular book, article, media resource, or Web site for your research.
Distinguishing Scholarly from Non-Scholarly Periodicals: A Checklist of Criteria
Shows how to evaluate periodicals by looking at their format, intended audience, and appearance.
Selected MDC Databases
Biography (Gale in Context) (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Online experience for those seeking contextual information on the world's most influential people. The new solution merges Gale's authoritative reference content (including Lives & Perspectives) with periodicals and multimedia organized into a user-friendly portal experience while also allowing users to search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender as well as keyword and full text.
Biography Index (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Cites biographical articles appearing in any of more than 3,000 periodicals, plus some 2,000 current books of individual and collective biography published each year, and biographical material in otherwise non-biographical books. Besides biographies and autobiographies, it includes citations to interviews, obituaries, collections of letters, diaries, memoirs, juvenile literature, book reviews, bibliographies and exhibition reviews. People covered range from antiquity to the present and represent all fields and nationalities.
Books & Authors (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Books & Authors provides new ways to explore the endless possibilities and combinations of books, authors and topics. Adapted from Gale's acclaimed What Do I Read Next? Print series, Books & Authors is specially designed to complement the browsing habits of today's Web user, integrating easy-to-follow menus that allow users to broaden and narrow their searches according to author, title or series, awards, and other criteria. An "if you like" search connects readers to the themes and genres that may have otherwise gone unnoticed.
Granger's World Poetry
This premiere poetry on-line resource contains 250,000 full text poems and 450,000 citations, as well as poetry commentary, poets' biographies, and literary glossary terms.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is an online system for archiving academic journals, founded in 1995. It provides its member institutions full-text searches of digitized back issues of several hundred well-known journals, dating back to 1665 in the case of the Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society.
Literary Reference Center Plus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Literary Reference Center is a full text database that combines information from major respected reference works, books, literary journals as well as original content from EBSCO Publishing . This resource includes plot summaries, synopses and work overviews; articles of literary criticism; author biographies; full text of literary journals; book reviews; classic & contemporary poems; classic & contemporary short stories; full text of classic novels; author interviews; and images of key literary figures.
Literature Resources from Gale This link opens in a new window
Gale Literary Sources brings together all of Gale's literary databases into one seamlessly cross-searchable research and study environment. Whether you're researching authors and their works, literary movements or genres, or trying to find book reviews of bestsellers, you can search across all of your library's Gale literary databases to find full text of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism and analysis, reviews, author biographies, and a rich collection of expertly written work overviews.
LitFinder (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Includes access to three databases: Poem Finder, Story Finder, and Essay/Speech/Play Finder. Poem Finder is the largest, most comprehensive and most current poetry database available. It is international in scope, and covers poetry from antiquity to the present. It is a one-stop resource for locating over 4 1/2 million lines of poetry. Story Finder provides thousands of full-text short stories plus explanations, biographies, pictures and more. The database will be updated constantly with classic and contemporary stories. Speeches represent the finest examples of recorded oratory, covering the milestones of history as well as the minutiae of everyday life. Over 1,000 complete plays cover the range of dramatic expression from many countries, including one-act plays, puppet plays, Harlinquinades, tragedies, gothic, childrens, religious, romantic, historical, childrens and comedic plays.
Oxford English Dictionary Online
The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world.
The Poetry Foundation, publisher of Poetry magazine, is an independent literary organization committed to a vigorous presence for poetry in our culture. It exists to discover and celebrate the best poetry and to place it before the largest possible audience.
MDC Media Resources
Films on Demand (Infobase Publishing) This link opens in a new window
Streaming video from large and small production companies covering a wide range of subjects to enhance college courses. These videos include public performance rights that allow them to be used in the educational setting.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Watch thousands of streaming films, documentaries and training videos at http://mdc.kanopystreaming.com. Kanopy’s award-winning collection includes PBS, Criterion Collection, New Day, California Newsreel, First Run Features and hundreds of other leading producers -- on every topic imaginable.