LibGuides: Exploring Controversial Issues: Home

About This Website

Do you have an assignment that requires you to explore the pros and cons of a controversial issue such as gun control, immigration, or health care reform? Do you have to write a persuasive or argumentative essay, or take a side on an issue for a speech or a debate? This website provides suggestions for finding reliable information on topics of current interest.

Choosing a Topic

If you don't yet have a topic and need some ideas, these resources can help:

Picking Your Topic IS Research [VIDEO]
North Carolina State University

Flipster (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Flipster is a database of magazines that you can view cover-to-cover. Browsing the latest issues of popular magazines such as Time, Discover, and The Atlantic can give you ideas for current topics.

Idea Generator
Old Dominion University

Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) (Gale) This link opens in a new window
This database contains an extensive list of current issues. Once you've entered the database, click "Browse Issues."

ProCon.org

Need Help?

Librarians are available to assist you at your campus library Reference Desk or through the statewide Ask-a-Librarian service: Chat | Email | Text

Databases

The MDC Libraries provide free access to over 100 databases containing popular and scholarly periodicals, ebooks, videos, and other types of information resources.

The following databases are best bets for finding information on controversial issues.

If prompted to log in, enter your MDC username and password.

Current Issues:

CQ Researcher Plus Archive (CQ Press) This link opens in a new window
Issues & Controversies (Infobase Publishing) This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) (Gale) This link opens in a new window
SIRS Researcher This link opens in a new window

General Topics:

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
(This database focuses on environmental issues.)
MasterFILE Premier (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
OmniFile Full Text Mega Edition (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Readers' Guide Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window

News:

America's News (NewsBank) This link opens in a new window
Florida News (NewsBank) This link opens in a new window
Miami Herald (NewsBank) This link opens in a new window
New York Times - Current (Gale) This link opens in a new window

eBooks:

eBook Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window

Videos:

Films on Demand (Infobase Publishing) This link opens in a new window
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
PBS Video (Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new window

More Database Resources

Many of our databases include special features that are often overlooked. The following suggestions can be helpful for researching controversial issues.

America's News (NewsBank) This link opens in a new window
This database contains a Special Reports section that focuses on topics of current interest.
Once logged in, scroll down and click Special Reports.
DemographicsNow (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Demographic statistics can be useful when preparing an argument for an essay or debate. This database offers many options for generating reports of demographic information such as income, housing, race, age, education, retail spending, and more. Helpful video tutorials are included.
Issues & Controversies (Infobase Publishing) This link opens in a new window
This database contains a collection of full-length debate videos featuring leading authorities and experts debating the major issues of our time.
Once logged in, locate Debate Videos under Featured Resources.

Plug Into Google Scholar

Google Scholar (MDC) This link opens in a new window
You might be familiar with using Google Scholar to search for information from scholarly sources, but did you know there's a way to make it even more useful? The link above is a customized link that automatically connects Google Scholar to MDC's library databases to increase your chances of gaining free access to fee-based materials. Entering Google Scholar through this link enables you to see which of your search results are freely available in MDC's databases, and provides direct links to those resources.

Web Resources

Above The Noise
Short videos that provide background information on a number of controversial issues. Selected sources accompany each video.
AllSides
A website that presents news articles from the left, center, and right of each issue.
Brookings Institution
Independent research, recommendations, and analysis on a full range of public policy issues.
Debatabase
Published by the International Debate Education Association (IDEA), the Debatabase website provides background, arguments, and resources on a variety of debate topics.
IntelligenceSquared Debate Videos
Each video features two teams of experts arguing for and against the most important public policy issues facing America today.
Pew Research Center
Research on U.S. politics and policy; journalism and media; internet, science and technology; religion and public life; Hispanic trends; global attitudes and trends; and U.S. social and demographic trends.
ProCon.org
ProCon.org's mission is to promote critical thinking, education, and informed citizenship by presenting controversial issues in a straightforward, nonpartisan, primarily pro-con format.
Quinnipiac Poll
Frequently cited by journalists, public officials and researchers, the independent Quinnipiac University Poll regularly conducts surveys about political races, state and national elections, and issues of public concern, such as schools, taxes, transportation, municipal services, and the environment.
USA.gov: Data and Statistics
Links to U.S. government agencies that provide data and statistics on the economy, criminal justice, labor, transportation, education, energy, agriculture, health, and more.
World Bank
Global development data on a wide range of indicators such as agriculture & rural development, climate change, education, health, infrastructure, trade, etc.
World Health Organization
The most recent health statistics for the World Health Organization's Member States.

Access to Other Libraries

If you are a currently registered MDC student, your MDC ID card can be used for borrowing privileges at the Florida International University Libraries.

If you are a resident of Miami-Dade County, you can apply for a public library card that can be used at all branches of the Miami Dade Public Library System.

Use the links below to search the holdings of the FIU and Miami Dade Public Libraries:

For Teachers

The Better Arguments Project
A national civic initiative created to help bridge divides by helping people have better arguments. The website includes resources for the classroom.

Your Feedback Is Appreciated

How helpful is this web page for you?

Very helpful: 1 votes (33.33%)

Somewhat helpful: 0 votes (0%)

Not helpful: 2 votes (66.67%)

Total Votes: 3

Credits

This page was created and is maintained by
Jenny Saxton.

Questions and comments are welcome.

Exploring Controversial Issues: Home