Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Drug and Alcohol Abuse: Databases and Articles

Databases

From the library homepage www.mdc.edu/libraries, click MDC Libraries. Choose Articles/Databases. Choose Databases by Subject.

 Log in with your student number and PIN, (last four digits of your student number).

 

 Under the General Category The following Databases are good sources for articles about bullies and bullying.

 

 

 

 

Search for articles in these databases.  Log in with your student number and PIN, (last four digits of your student number).

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)

Issues and Controversies (Facts on File)

New York Times (NewsBank)

Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale)

 

Articles

 

This is an example of some articles that were found in the databases: Opposing Viewpoints and Academic Search Complete:

 

Alcohol poisoning: the death you don't see coming: drunk driving might get all the attention, but when it comes to teens and drinking, this problem is just as life-threatening

 Choices/Current Health, October 2013 
 
 Database:
 
       Opposing Viewpoints
 
Substance Abuse Treatment for Adolescents: How are Family Factors Related to Substance Use Change?   By: Bertrand, Karine; Richer, Isabelle; Brunelle, Natacha; Beaudoin, Isabelle; Lemieux, Annie; Ménard, Jean-Marc. Journal of Psychoactive Drugs. Jan-Mar2013, Vol. 45 Issue 1, p28-38. 11p. DOI: 10.1080/02791072.2013.763560.
Database:
Academic Search Complete
 
 
 
How to recognize the signs of substance abuse.   By: McGill, Natalie. Nation's Health. Oct2013, Vol. 43 Issue 8, p28-28. 1p.
Subjects:
SELF-destructive behavior; SUBSTANCE abuse; PATHOLOGICAL psychology; SOCIAL problems; UNITED States; NATIONAL Institutes of Health (U.S.)
Database:
Academic Search Complete