Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LIS 1001 Fall 2014: Information Sources

For use with the classes taught by Librarians

Types of Sources

INFORMATION SOURCES   

 

The information you need can come from virtually anywhere. The type of information source you choose will depend on the question you are trying to answer.

 

The following is a list of the types of sources you will investgate.

 

Magazines      

Magazines, like journals and newspapers, are called 
"periodicals" because they are published at regular 
intervals--for example, weekly or monthly.

You can find print magazines at libraries, bookstores, 
and other retail stores. Electronic magazines are 
available in online research databases and on the World 
Wide Web.

 

Books        

Books cover virtually any topic, fact or fiction. For research 
purposes, you may be looking for books that provide a 
good introduction and overview of your topic, or the book 
may focus on a very specific aspect of a broader subject.

 Libraries organize and store their book collections on shelves
called "stacks." The books are arranged by call number using the
Library of Congress call number system.

 

 Journals  

Journal articles may cover very specific topics or narrow 
fields of research and are aimed at a special audience of 
readers. The articles are written by scholars or experts in an 
academic or professional field and are considered 
authoritative and credible.

An editorial board of peers or experts often reviews the
articles to decide whether they should be published. These
types of articles are considered "refereed" or "peer reviewed".

Journals, like magazines and newspapers, are called
"periodicals" because they are published at regular intervals.
-- for example, monthly or quarterly.

Newspapers           

Newspapers provide articles about current
events and are a good source for local, national
and international news and information.

You can find newspapers in print or microfilm format, or available in 
online research databases. Many newspapers have their own websites 
and feature daily articles but may not provide retrospective articles.


 

Formats

Information Sources

Librarary Catalog

The Miami Dade College Library Catalog
identifies every item located in the library and will point
you to its location. Books, magazines, newspapers,
journals, videos, DVDs, music CDs and audio-books.

Use the online catalog to find out what books, etc. the library owns.

 

 Databases        

Research databases purchased by the Miami Dade Library are accessible from
the library website. Use Databases to locate articles both current and retrospective

These articles stored in databases are the same as the original hard copies.

The library also owns print indexes, good for researching
retrospective information. For example, the Readers' Guide to Periodical
Literature
print index at Kendall Campus Library goes back to 1929!

Among the library databases are both general ones, such as Academic

Search Complete and Academic One File.  Some specialized databases

include General Science, PsychArticles, Health and Wellness

and Literature Resource Center.

 

       

 World Wide Web     

The World Wide Web, also called the Web or WWW, allows 

you to access information on the Internet through a browser.  
One of the main features of the Web is the ability to link quickly 
to related information.

Use the Web to find current news and information, to find information

about organizations and companies, to find data from all levels of

government - federal to local, to find both expert and popular opinions,

to connect to library resources.

 

 

Information Formats