Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LIS 1001 Fall 2014: Library Catalog

For use with the classes taught by Librarians

Using the Library Catalog

 

             

 

About the Library Catalog

   This module covers using the library's online catalog,

LINCC, to locate books and other items in the library.

When you have completed this section you will be able to:

recognize that the catalog contains more than books,

   find books by title, author or subject heading,find books

on a topic by using a Keyword search, identify the location

of book and other library materials, and read a call number

and use it to find items in the library.

You'll find a link to the College Libraries on the 

College  homepage. www.mdc.edu

Click on the Libraries link on the left side of the

homepage to use the catalog from on or

off campus. https://www.mdc.edu/libraries

To begin searching, click MDC Libraries.

Using LINCC

 

 

The online catalog is named LINCC or LINCCWeb, and

has a record for each item that the Library owns.

These include:            

Print and electronic books           

Magazine, journal and newspaper titles

Research databases          

Multimedia           

DVDs

Note: You won't want to search for individual articles in the catalog. You'll learn how

to search for them by using a research database described in the next module.

Searching Screen

 

The LINCC System

LINCC Electronic Sources How to Search LINCC Databases The Library Internet Network for Community Colleges (LINCC) is a research tool provided by the State of Florida. LINCC gives access to many online resources such as electronic databases (a collection of data organized in a way to find specific information in the contents – may be created either in hard copy or electronic) and e-journals. The LINCC system is an online central information system. For the most part, LINCC electronic databases consist of electronic versions of newspapers, magazines, and journals that were originally published in hard-copy version. Those newspapers, magazines, and journals are collected in databases delivered through subscription services. LINCC also includes online encyclopedias such as Science Resource Center and a number of online only resources. Databases such as AmericasNewspapers and Academic Search Complete are made available through subscription services such as Wilson and Gale. Wilson and Gale are not databases. LINCC itself is not a database. It is a system that provides access to databases. Some databases collect articles from various publications. America’sNewspapers has articles from various newspapers around the country. Once you have selected a source it is important to understand exactly what you are looking at. There is a list of databases and the subscription service that provides them in the LINCC system to help you see the difference. If you look there, you will see how the subscription services Wilson and Gale provide many of the databases. ALL MDC students are subscribed to the excellent research tool. You must log into the system to use it. Working with the LINCC databases can be difficult until you get used to it. The different subscription services have different search engines. It is important to see how the Search page is organized to properly filter for your prospective sources. Become familiar with the organization of LINCC. Note that the databases are listed alphabetically in one list and by subject in another. These subject guides are a good place to start to search all databases that might have information on your topic. The multi-database search does not search all databases. Look carefully to see what information is asked for on the page. Use the little arrows to scroll for choices where indicated. Be sure to check Full Text where available. Not all databases have the full text of the article. Be sure to limit the dates of sources to get the most recent information when appropriate. Information on some topics could easily be outdated very quickly. The LINCC system is set up so that you can search by specific database or by category. The list of categories with the specific databases will appear on the screen once you log in. You can click to a multi-database search by Subject. However, be aware that this search does not search all databases.