Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LIS 2004 Fall 2015 (Laurie Hime): Course Project Directions and Examples

Laurie Hime

Course Project

The final course project requirements are described below. 

The project is worth 20 points and the bibliography page will be due on April 22.

 

 

COURSE PROJECT

For this project, you will choose a topic from the list you have been given in your Psychology class.  .  You will choose five different resources frromt he types we learned about this semester.  You will prepare an annotated bibliography of these five resources.

 

You may include:   

                                 1 book

                                  1 Magazine Article from a database of your choice

                                   1 Scholarly Journal Article from a database of your choice

                                  1 film from the Films on Demand database

                                   1 Website about your chosen topic

                                    

 

 For the course project, you will create an annotated bibliography that cites in the APA style,  and describes five of the best resources and database articles on your career. You should use all of the search tools and evaluation criteria you have learned about in this course.  I include a sample of an annotated bibliography on the subject of bullying here for you to see what it will look like when completed.

 

 +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

APA Annotated Bibliography on Bullies in Schools

Bacchini, D., Esposito, G., & Affuso, G. (2009). Social experience and school bullying. Journal of Community & Applied Social Psychology, 19(1), 17-32. doi: 10.1002/casp.975

This study examines the relationship between school bullying and various aspects of urban environments where participants live and go to school. Researchers found that bullying is significantly associated with the way subjects perceive their exposure to dangerous and violent situations within the neighborhood they live and go to school, and their relationship with classmates and their relationship with teachers. The researchers conclude that there is a need for intervention strategies that extend beyond the classroom to the broader community and neighborhood.

Hazler, R. J. (1996). Breaking the cycle of violence: Interventions for bullying and victimization. Washington, D.C.: Accelerated Development.

This book gives practical intervention and prevention techniques available for dealing with bullying. It begins by giving a clear picture of who the school bullies and victims really are and how their problems begin, a well as the potential dangers they face throughout their lives. A step-by-step model for helping the victims improve their relationship is then presented. Finally, hands on actions are offered for school personnel, parents, bullies, victims, and bystanders that can help to break the cycle at its earliest stages and improve the environment for everyone.

Hurst, M. (2005). When it comes to bullying, there are no boundaries. Education Week, 24(22), 8. Retrieved from Academic Search Complete database.

The author notes that bullying is a problem in every school in the world. She goes on to describe intervention programs worldwide that have helped reduce the number of incidents in many countries. Scotland and Australia, for example, have set up government-supported organizations and websites, while the Israel Ministry of Education has developed extensive teacher training. The article does not draw any conclusions about the best solutions to the problem. Intended mainly for teachers and administrators seeking a broad perspective on this issue, the article does not provide any practical advice for parents or for teachers looking for classroom intervention practices.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

 The project is worth 20 points and will be due on

Sample Papers

Click on a paper below to see examples of annotated bibliographies in APA or MLA format.