Name _______________________________________________ Date____________
Lesson 5 Quiz – Library databases
Research on the life of a famous author:
a. Health and Wellness Resource Center b. Issues and Controversies
c. Biography in Context (Gale) d. Military Full Text
2. Which database would be the best to choose for this topic?
Illnesses caused by smoking
a. Health and Wellness Resource Center b. Education
c. Biography d. Military Full Text
3. It is possible for Miami Dade College students to access library databases using a home computer?
True ______ False ______
4. In order to have access to the MDC Library databases you will need to log in with your:
__________________________ for the Borrower ID and _______________ for the Password
5. Do most databases have a feature that gives you the option to forward an email of the article? Y or N
6. Do most databases have a feature that gives you the option to print the article? Y or N
7. Use one of the MDC Library database to do a practice search.
Name the database you will use: _________________________________________________
8. What topic or keywords will you use to search: _______________________________________
9. Why did you choose this database for researching your topic: ____________________________
10. Go to the MDC Library/ Learning Resources website and search using the Databases tab:
Choose the following database: Biography in Context (Gale). Search for Isabel Allende.
11. What is her year of birth? _______ 12. What is her occupation? ______________________
13. Name one database under the Social Science Subject : _________________________________
14. Name which database you think will be more helpful to you for Academic Research and explain why you believe this database is the best.
Use the example below to answer the following questions. This sample page contains an article citation from the general database Academic Search:
15. The title of this article is:
A. Contests B. Designers Envision the Future of Gateway Park C. EBSCHO Host D. Preservation
16. The author of this article is :
A. Product Preview B. Abstract C. No author’s name is given D. Intel Corp.
17. The source of this article is
A. result list B. Architect C. Architecture D. Laptop Computers
18. The date of this article is
A. Issue 3864 B. 11739244 C. p.28 D. July, 2007
19. What is the Word Count of this article: _______
20. What is the document type: _________________