Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EPI 0002 Instructional Strategies: Finding Articles

This guide is for students in the Educators Preparation Institute.

Suggested Education Databases

You will be able to search for articles on education in journals, magazines, and newspapers.  You will need to log in to the databases in order to access the articles. Use your MDC Student ID Number as the Borrower ID and enter the last 4 digits of your Student ID Number in the box for PIN/Password. Please click on this link to log in to the databases.  Below are some suggested databases for articles on education.

How to Log into the Databases

Teacher Retreating: The Little Knowd Behavior that Impacts Teaching and Learning

Teacher Retreating: The Little Known Behavior that Impacts Teaching and Learning

This paper discusses findings from four years of observational research examining classroom climate. Specifically, findings that focused on one powerful teacher behavior (teacher retreating) were examined. These data indicated that teacher retreating was negatively correlated to the amount of instructional interaction occurring between students and teachers and was positively correlated to the amount of unwanted student behavior observed. Regression analysis indicated that teacher retreating was the only behavior that predicted the amount of student off-task behavior taking place. The authors discuss the importance of these findings to teacher educators and offer suggestions for preventing teacher retreating.

This is an article from the Teacher Reference Center database. Log in with your MDC Student Number.

Differentiated Instruction: Making Informed Teacher Decisions

Differentiated Instruction: Making Informed Teacher Decisions

This article addresses approaches to differentiating  instruction to meet the needs of students whose literacy needs, interests, and strengths vary widely. This article was designed to support classroom teachers who understand the importance of differentiating instruction, but are unsure of how best to design and implement differentiation within the parameters of the classroom. The article begins by defining differentiated instruction and discussing its importance, including the role of differentiation with respect to diversity and with respect to Response to Intervention (RTI). The remainder of the article describes in detail two examples of differentiated instruction in classroom contexts. Each example is followed by a discussion of the research and decision-making underlying the teacher's approach to differentiation. The article concludes with common characteristics of effective differentiation.

This article is from the Education Full Text database, Log in using your MDC student number.

Subject Guide

Beth Cloues's picture
Beth Cloues
Contact:
(305)237-6736

Formative Assessment Made Easy: Templates for Collecting Daily Data in Inclusive Classrooms

Formative Assessment Made Easy: Templates for Collecting Daily Date in Inclusive Classrooms

The article discusses the importance of assessments in special education under U.S. education policies such as the No Child Left Behind Act (NCLB) and Individuals With Disabilities Education Improvement Act (IDEA) and offers templates for teachers to create formative assessments. Particular attention is given to the value of observing student behavior to help improve engagement.

This article is from the Education Full Text database. Use your MDC Student Number to log in.