Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

College Mentoring: Suggested Databases for Research

This LibGuide contains suggested research tools and annotated sources on the topic of faculty advising/coaching/mentoring of college students.

Look at the Annotated List of Suggest Databases, E-books, and Journals Provided

Books:

Light, R. J. (2001). Making the most of college: Students speak their mind.  Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Press. EPC PEDAG LD 2160 .L54 2001

Articles:

Education Full Text

Evans, R. R. & Forbes, L. (2012). Mentoring the “Net generation’: Faculty perspectives in health education. College Student Journal46(2), 397-404.

A new generation of consumer and tech savvy college students have forever altered the method and degree of interaction between faculty and student. The purpose of the article is to describe the challenges of mentoring a new generation of health educators. The authors will summarize the literature on generational group characteristics that may affect how higher education faculty successfully interacts with and mentors the Net Generation. Discussion will focus on changes in the mentoring relationship to meet the needs of this generation. Strategies for specialized mentoring that best prepare future professionals for the job market are presented.

Girves, J. E., Zepeda, Y., & Gwathmey, J. K. (2005). Mentoring in a post-affirmative action world. Journal of Social Issues61(3), 449-479.

Mentoring can be an effective strategy in improving retention of college students and faculty from fields where historical underrepresentation has occurred. This article reviews the benefits of mentoring in higher education, and identifies components of effective mentoring strategies that promote educational and career advancement. It illustrates how effective programs can be institutionalized and scaled through consortial and national collaborations. Traditional and alternative mentoring models are described through four successful programs designed to increase the academic and professional success of undergraduates, graduate students, and junior faculty. The article concludes with a set of general recommendations and caveats gleaned from the literature and programs reviewed.

Gross, D., Iverson, E., Willett, G., & Manduca, C. (2015). Broadening access to science with support for the whole student in a residential liberal arts college environment. Journal of College Science Teaching44(4), 99-107.

Two cohort programs are used to support students from groups underrepresented in STEM fields at Carleton College. These programs were designed to support three aspects of student development: students' drive to succeed in STEM fields; students' sense of belonging in their student cohorts, in the college, in the STEM departments at the college, and in STEM disciplines more broadly; and students' learning in STEM courses (e.g., mentoring, advising, and research experiences). Interviews and questionnaires were used to understand more specifically the challenges our students face and the relationship between program elements and student success. This allowed us to identify several critical program elements, particularly building an inclusive learning community, structured mentoring and advising from faculty and peers, and research experiences coupled with exposure to broad examples of scientific research and scientific careers. Conducting program evaluation in the context of the theoretical framework allowed us to better understand how and why the program works, as well as to refine programming.

 Gutiérrez, L. M. (2012). Recognizing and valuing our roles as mentors. Journal of Social Work Education48(1), 1-4.

            The article discusses the value of mentoring at the college and university level and the role of mentor, which is a term      originating from a mythological character who was the companion of King Odysseus and teacher of Telemachus. Effective mentoring between faculty and students is described as a two-way learning process that can also help in organizing student social networks and student development plans that support academic achievement as well as comfortable communication opportunities. Research on academic and social work mentoring is noted.

Hytten, K. (2011). Intellectual conversation. Philosophy of Education Yearbook, 148-151.

A response to an essay by Mary Jo Hinsdale on the mentoring of minority students is presented, in which the author analyzes Hinsdale's idea that mentors should impart the academic traditions of their field and also listen to their students' new perspectives, a process she calls converation. The author discusses philosopher Lisa Delpit's ideas on the philosophy of power in education, subversive ideas, and responsive listening. She suggests that mentors understand their students' personal experiences, be open-minded, and encourage diverse and inclusive academic communities.

Miller, D. S., & Slocombe, T. E. (2012). Preparing students for the new reality. College Student Journal46(1), 18-25.

The purpose of this paper is to explain the hypercompetitive new reality in the global marketplace, discuss cultural changes in the United States leading to declining student performance and graduates who are unprepared for a competitive work environment, and provide helpful ideas to educators functioning as coaches and mentors. We found extensive support from many authors and sources expressing concern about the lack of preparation, complacency, and denial that interfere with the recognition of the new reality and the urgent need to properly coach and mentor students who will enter the workforce. Unless a country's culture and educational system prepares students to effectively compete in the workforce, the country's productivity will decline with unfortunate consequences for its economy and the standard of living of its citizens. There is evidence suggesting that this situation is already happening in the United States. Educators should coach and mentor students to understand the challenges they will face and motivate them to prepare for those challenges.

Pita, M., Ramirez, C., Joacin, N., Prentice, S., & Clarke, C. (2013). Five effective strategies for mentoring undergraduates:   Students' perspectives. Council on Undergraduate Research Quarterly33(3), 11-15.

The article discusses the five strategies for an effective mentoring in undergraduate research. The authors suggest that mentors must provide a considerable and quality time in mentoring a novice undergraduate researcher. The authors also recommend building a community in the research team, being attentive to the students, and encouraging involvement in research community.

What Is a Mentor?

https://eds.a.ebscohost.com.db16.linccweb.org/ehost/detail/detail?vid=166&sid=d603ba6c-f6b9-4cd4-8677-371bca4a9264%40sessionmgr4003&hid=4113&bdata=JnNpdGU9ZWhvc3QtbGl2ZQ%3d%3d#db=eft&AN=84329590

Understanding the Memorable Messages First-Generation College Students Receive from On-Campus Mentors

https://eds.a.ebscohost.com.db16.linccweb.org/ehost/detail/detail?vid=198&sid=d603ba6c-f6b9-4cd4-8677-371bca4a9264%40sessionmgr4003&hid=4113&bdata=JnNpdGU9ZWhvc3QtbGl2ZQ%3d%3d#db=eft&AN=80441380

What Mentors Often Miss

https://eds.a.ebscohost.com.db16.linccweb.org/ehost/detail/detail?vid=211&sid=d603ba6c-f6b9-4cd4-8677-371bca4a9264%40sessionmgr4003&hid=4113&bdata=JnNpdGU9ZWhvc3QtbGl2ZQ%3d%3d#db=eft&AN=97222119

Matching by Race and Gender in Mentoring Relationships: Keeping our Eyes on the Prize

https://eds.a.ebscohost.com.db16.linccweb.org/ehost/detail/detail?vid=232&sid=d603ba6c-f6b9-4cd4-8677-371bca4a9264%40sessionmgr4003&hid=4113&bdata=JnNpdGU9ZWhvc3QtbGl2ZQ%3d%3d#db=eft&AN=525474975

Academic Coaching to Promote Student Success: An Interview with Carol Carter

https://eds.a.ebscohost.com.db16.linccweb.org/ehost/detail/detail?vid=276&sid=d603ba6c-f6b9-4cd4-8677-371bca4a9264%40sessionmgr4003&hid=4113&bdata=JnNpdGU9ZWhvc3QtbGl2ZQ%3d%3d#db=eft&AN=77427108

A Winning Strategy

https://eds.a.ebscohost.com.db16.linccweb.org/ehost/detail/detail?vid=278&sid=d603ba6c-f6b9-4cd4-8677-371bca4a9264%40sessionmgr4003&hid=4113&bdata=JnNpdGU9ZWhvc3QtbGl2ZQ%3d%3d#db=eft&AN=82056693

Faculty Advising to Support Student Learning

https://eds.a.ebscohost.com.db16.linccweb.org/ehost/detail/detail?vid=296&sid=d603ba6c-f6b9-4cd4-8677-371bca4a9264%40sessionmgr4003&hid=4113&bdata=JnNpdGU9ZWhvc3QtbGl2ZQ%3d%3d#db=eft&AN=101143298

Mentoring at Midlife: Views from Two Sides of a Key Relationship

https://eds.a.ebscohost.com.db16.linccweb.org/ehost/detail/detail?vid=304&sid=d603ba6c-f6b9-4cd4-8677-371bca4a9264%40sessionmgr4003&hid=4113&bdata=JnNpdGU9ZWhvc3QtbGl2ZQ%3d%3d#db=eft&AN=508175224

Mentoring and Satisfaction with College for Black Students

https://eds.a.ebscohost.com.db16.linccweb.org/ehost/detail/detail?vid=306&sid=d603ba6c-f6b9-4cd4-8677-371bca4a9264%40sessionmgr4003&hid=4113&bdata=JnNpdGU9ZWhvc3QtbGl2ZQ%3d%3d#db=eft&AN=507972399

Cross-Cultural Mentoring in Institutional Contexts

https://eds.a.ebscohost.com.db16.linccweb.org/ehost/detail/detail?vid=308&sid=d603ba6c-f6b9-4cd4-8677-371bca4a9264%40sessionmgr4003&hid=4113&bdata=JnNpdGU9ZWhvc3QtbGl2ZQ%3d%3d#db=eft&AN=507972395

Caring for the Whole Person: Guidelines for Advancing Undergraduate Mentorship

https://eds.a.ebscohost.com.db16.linccweb.org/ehost/detail/detail?vid=312&sid=d603ba6c-f6b9-4cd4-8677-371bca4a9264%40sessionmgr4003&hid=4113&bdata=JnNpdGU9ZWhvc3QtbGl2ZQ%3d%3d#db=eft&AN=508020761

Academic mentoring in college: The interactive role of student's and mentor's interpersonal dispositions

https://eds.a.ebscohost.com.db16.linccweb.org/ehost/detail/detail?vid=318&sid=d603ba6c-f6b9-4cd4-8677-371bca4a9264%40sessionmgr4003&hid=4113&bdata=JnNpdGU9ZWhvc3QtbGl2ZQ%3d%3d#db=eft&AN=507967597

The mentoring relationship: differing perceptions of benefits

https://eds.a.ebscohost.com.db16.linccweb.org/ehost/detail/detail?vid=320&sid=d603ba6c-f6b9-4cd4-8677-371bca4a9264%40sessionmgr4003&hid=4113&bdata=JnNpdGU9ZWhvc3QtbGl2ZQ%3d%3d#db=eft&AN=507736634

Sage Journals

Psychology of Mentoring: The Case of Talented College Students

https://joa.sagepub.com.db16.linccweb.org/content/22/3/474.abstract

Databases:

The best source of information for this topic is the library databases which contain articles from journals. You will need to log in to the databases in order to access the articles. Use your MDC Employee ID Number as the Borrower ID and enter the last 4 digits of your Employee ID Number in the box for PIN/Password. If you need more information on how to log in to the databases, watch the video that appears on the right side of the screen. Please click on this link to log in to the complete list of databases. You may also click on the individual titles of databases listed below. These are some suggested database titles to search for articles on this topic.

Education Full Text

See Ebooks listed below