Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EAP1586 | Professor Porges-West

This guide contains resources for students of Professor Ileana Porges-West's EAP1586 courses, Fall 2022.

EAP 1586 Header

Quick Tips

 

Accessing the MDC Databases

  • Access the databases available through MDC by selecting More Databases on the MDC Learning Resources Library webpage.

  • Search the databases by subject.

  • Try different keywords and add more than one in order to narrow down or focus your results.

  • Be sure to add the following filters to your searches, Full Text and Scholarly or Peer-Reviewed when applicable.

Logging In

  • Use your MDC username and password if prompted.

Researching

  • When conducting your search, remember the more keywords you use the more focused your search will be and you'll only have a few specific articles to look through rather than thousands.

  • Always select Full Text from the filters when available. This is usually located below the search fields where you enter your keywords.

Useful Tools

  • Take advantage of tools such as:

    • E-mail to send articles to yourself so as not to lose them.

    • Cite will generate a citation for the article in a variety of styles, including MLA. Simply copy and paste into your References.

Searching the MDC Library Catalog


Recommended Databases by Subject

Accessing the MDC Library Databases

Research Strategies

 

Conducting Research: Purdue OWL

Link to Purdue OWL Conducting research