Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Accessing the MDC Databases
- Access the databases available through MDC by selecting More Databases on the MDC Learning Resources Library webpage.
- Search the databases by subject.
- Try different keywords and add more than one in order to narrow down or focus the results.
- Be sure to add the following filters to your searches, Full Text and Scholarly or Peer Reviewed when applicable.
- Borrower ID - Student number (located on your MDC ID or class schedule)
- PIN - last four digits of Borrower ID / Student number
Keywords to get you started
*Tip: Use synonyms when possible and see the different results you get.
Suggested Project Topics
Mexican Immigration to the United States
Health Issues Prevalent Among Mexicans
Human Rights Issues in Mexico
Women in Mexico
Environmental Concerns in Mexico
Art & Architecture Source (EBSCO)
Covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. Providing over 600 full-text journals, more than 220 full-text books, and a collection of over 63,0000 images, it is designed for use by a diverse audience, including art scholars, artists, designers, students and general researchers.
Humanities Source (EBSCO)
Designed to meet the needs of students, researchers and educators interested in all aspects of the humanities. The collection includes full text for more than 1,400 journals, with citations to over 3.5 million articles, including book reviews. Coverage in Humanities Source includes worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought.
MasterFILE Premier (EBSCO)
Designed specifically for public libraries, MasterFILE™ Premier contains full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more. This database also contains full text more than 500 reference books, over 107,000 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of over 510,000 photos, maps & flags.
Academic OneFile (Gale)
Provides peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources. Includes coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and, other subjects.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
Designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) (Gale)
Online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, the new solution features continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
CINAHL Complete (EBSCO)
The worlds most comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. CINAHL®Complete is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing & allied health literature.
CQ Researcher Plus Archive (CQ Press)
Explores a single "hot" issue each week, ranging from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, and science. 44 reports produced each year, including four expanded reports. Includes charts, graphs and sidebar articles. Also contains the complete archive of Editorial Research Reports—the venerable precursor to CQ Researcher—dating back to 1923 which includes over 3,000 in-depth reports
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia (EBSCO)
Contains over 25,000 records, covering a wide range of topics. Full text and images are available.
Gale E-Books (Gale)
Offers more than 85 reference sources including encyclopedias, series and more, allowing libraries to provide respected authoritative essays on varied topics from numerous subject areas. Gale Virtual Reference Library provides the flexibility to buy one eBook or multiple eBooks; search across a single eBook or an entire eBook collection.
This resource offers a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the environment. Drawing on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology, GreenFILE serves as an informative resource for anyone concerned about the issues facing our planet. GreenFILE indexes scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports. It contains nearly 300,000 records, full text for selected titles and searchable cited references for more than 200 titles.
Criminal Justice (ProQuest)
ProQuest Criminal Justice is a comprehensive database supporting research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends. As well as U.S. and international scholarly journals, it includes correctional and law enforcement trade publications, crime reports, crime blogs and other material relevant for researchers or those preparing for careers in criminal justice, law enforcement and related fields.
Daily Life Through History (ABC-CLIO)
In Daily Life through History, students and researchers discover the everyday details about past eras that make historical accounts relevant and meaningful.
A comprehensive web-based solution offering up-to-date resources on demographics and extensive market level information.
History Reference Center (EBSCO)
Offers full text from more than 750 history reference books and encyclopedias, and cover-to-cover full text from nearly 60 history magazines. Further, the database contains 58,000 historical documents; 43,000 biographies of historical figures; more than 12,000 historical photos and maps; and 87 hours of historical film and video.
Films on Demand (Infobase Publishing)
Streaming video from large and small production companies covering a wide range of subjects to enhance college courses. These videos include public performance rights that allow them to be used in the educational setting.
Watch thousands of streaming films, documentaries and training videos at http://mdc.kanopystreaming.com. Kanopy’s award-winning collection includes PBS, Criterion Collection, New Day, California Newsreel, First Run Features and hundreds of other leading producers -- on every topic imaginable.
Rich, dynamic, and innovative resource that provides thousands of historic news reports, current events stories, original content, primary source documents, and other digital media specifically designed to help teach and engage students of all levels and abilities.
How to Search the MDC Catalog
How to Access MDC Databases