LibGuides: Religion—Library Resources: Databases & Journals

MDC Databases

If prompted to log in, enter your MDC username and password.

Try different search fields
Use filters to limit searches
Use filters to refine results

Different databases may look different but they can all be used in similar ways. Go to a database’s Help function for instructions on search features. And remember: Don't reinvent the wheel! Search your article database for items from the bibliographies that occur at the end of journal articles or in books that you've already found on your topic.

Adapted from the UC Santa Cruz University Library research guide "Start Your Research." Used under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported (CC BY 3.0) license.

Humanities Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
(H.W. Wilson) - Over 500 English-language periodicals covering literature and language, history, philosophy, archaeology, classical studies, folklore, gender studies, performing arts, history, religion, and theology. Many articles in full text.

Funded by: College (FLVC Group License)
Humanities Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Designed to meet the needs of students, researchers and educators interested in all aspects of the humanities. The collection includes full text for more than 1,400 journals, with citations to over 3.5 million articles, including book reviews. Coverage in Humanities Source includes worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly, and creative thought.

Funded by: Statewide Allocation
Issues & Controversies (Infobase Publishing) This link opens in a new window
(Facts on File) - Offers a wealth of research information on current topics including pro/con discussions of hot issues, newspaper editorials, numerical snapshots of key topics, photos and graphics, and selected historical source documents.

Funded by: College (FLVC Group License)
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
(JSTOR) - Access back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Over 700 titles available.

Funded by: Statewide Allocation
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) (Gale) This link opens in a new window
(Gale) - online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, the new solution features continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files, and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.

Funded by: Statewide Allocation
SIRS Researcher This link opens in a new window
(SIRS) - Integrated online access to full-text articles and Internet resources from SIRS reference databases by ProQuest - SIRS Researcher, SIRS Government Reporter, SIRS Renaissance and SIRS NetSelect.

Funded by: College (FLVC Group License)

Religion Journals

Flipster

Magazines

Flipster is a free, digital-magazine service that gives MDC users access to great magazines on any computer or device. Titles with rich, humanities-related content of interest to religion students and faculty include The Atlantic, National Geographic, The New Yorker, and Philosophy Now.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research.

Religion—Library Resources: Databases & Journals

Flipster

Credits Footer