Promotional photo of Boris Karloff as Frankenstein's monster in the film Bride of Frankenstein (1935). Public domain. Source: Wikimedia Commons
Frankenstein: Complete Legacy Collection
Hammer Horror
Mary Shelley's Frankenstein by 
Young Frankenstein by 
Mary Shelley, by Reginald Easton (1820). Public domain. Source Wikimedia Commons
Click the logo above to visit this site
This guide is designed to quickly connect student researchers to all materials available through the Miami Dade College Library on Mary Shelley's pioneering and perennially popular cautionary tale about Victor Frankenstein, his ambition, and his monster that finally destroys him and those he loves. It will connect the researcher to reference works (great for getting authoritative background information), books, and articles from journals, literary as well as those from other fields. It also provides information on citation and on getting materials not owned by the MDC's Library.
This page will connect the user not just to literary resources, but resources in theology, philosophy, science, and health sciences, since this novel has been used as a lens through which to examine ethical and other sorts of issues in all of these fields.
(Who is this "Prometheus" guy in the subtitle of Frankenstein? Click here to find out.)
The Cambridge Companion to Frankenstein by 
Cambridge Companion to Mary Shelley by 
Frankenstein: The First Two Hundred Years by 
Bioethics and Medical Issues in Literature by 
Encyclopedia of British Women Writers by 
Historical Dictionary of Science Fiction in Literature by 
Oxford Companion to English Literature by 
Oxford Encyclopedia of British Literature by 
Science Fiction Writers: Critical Studies of the Major Authors... by 
To visit the SFE, please click the logo above
This is a free online presentation of the third edition of The Encyclopedia of Science Fiction. It aims to provide a comprehensive, scholarly, and critical guide to science fiction in all its forms.
For more about the Encyclopedia, please follow these links:
Frankenstein: Annotated for Scientists, Engineers, and Creators of All Kinds
By Mary Shelley. MIT Press, 2017
Click the cover image to read this book online, courtesy of MIT Press and Science Friday
Click a link below to run that search in the QuickSearch online catalog.
These links will find only print books. To learn how to find EBooks for these searches, click here.
To access these databases off-campus, you will need to enter your Multipass username and password.
